1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting VHS tapes to dvd disc

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by Jacquioo1, Apr 5, 2005.

1. Jacquioo1

Jacquioo1 Member

PLEASE can anyone give me some advise. This is my first attempt to convert vhs to dvd. I bought a Tevion DVD MAKER VS-USB2800D. This comes with PVR PLUS and also Powerproducer Gold 2.0. The problem i've found so far is this, i can capture in avi or mpeg1 format but nothing else. When i select dvd pal my picture goes really slow but the audio plays fine. I get the same problem with mpeg 2. If i choose mpeg 4 i get a message saying no mpeg4 codec found, please download and install microsofts mpeg4 or divix codec. I have attempted to do this from microsofts download centre but still no joy. I have also tried ffdshow codecs, still same. The trouble is when i captured 10 mins of video yesterday in avi i then used the mpeg encoder to convert to dvd but the picture quality was worse than the old vhs tape. I would at least like to achieve the same quality as the video. They are not original videos either, i'm just trying to convert my old analogue camcorder footage of my children which are all on vhs tapes. If anyone can give me advise as to why i'm getting what i guess is a rendering problem then please please help. When dvd or mpeg 2 is selected the vhs tape plays fine until i press record this is when the pictures goes in slow motion sorta stopping and starting all the time. And also if anyone can shine any light on the microsoft mpeg4 codec problem. My system consists of this: Intel celeron 2.7ghz, 1 80gig hd & 1 120gig hd, 3Dagp Geforce FX5200 64mb with Tv out, 512mb ddr ram. I hope this is enough information for someone to guide me in the right direction, i really want to transfer these old tapes while they are still working before i loose all footage of my kids growing up. The only thing i do regular is ba