1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dead HDD, want to replace---complete noob to mods

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by wintrmute, Sep 6, 2007.

1. wintrmute

wintrmute Member

As an intro... I just registered on this forum today, I'm a complete noob to modding xbox's or any other console, but I'm a PC tech, so I'm familiar with most of the terminology.

I have an Xbox that I've had for a few years now, that has seen very little use until recently. A few weeks ago it started making a clicking sound, and after about 30 minutes or so of that, a disc read error would be displayed (your disc is dirty, yada yada yada). At first I thought it was the dvd drive making the noise, so I had it cleaned by a friend who has a cleaning disc. The problem stayed. But, after it started clicking this last time, the message "your xbox needs service" popped up. Now it will not boot at all, the front light blinks orange/red while it turns on, and that message displays.
    So, all ready being out of warranty, I figure it won't hurt to pop it open and take a look. The noise is definitely the hard drive, so I think, wow, it's just an IDE drive, I'll make an image, and replace it. As I'm sure you guys know...no dice.

I've done my research here, on google, anywhere I could find info on getting an xbox to use an unlocked drive.

So I've been reading up on what the simplest, most cost effective way to replace this HDD would be. I pretty much have all the IDE drives I could ever want, so that's not an issue. This is the simplest demo/instructions I could find:

http://www.g4tv.com/screensavers/features/41539/Xbox_Mod_HardDrive_Upgrade.html
    (Disclaimer: I usually don't care for G4, but this was informative).

Seems pretty easy....boot to the EvoX disc, configure a new hard drive, and be done with it. The one thing I'm missing is a mod chip.