1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

deciding on a cpu and video card

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by dragnandy, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im going to get a GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. and im not sure which cpu to get. im not sure which is better, conroe or wolfdale. the wolfdale seems cheaper, has more L2 cache and has 45nm. im not sure what the 45nm is though, is it better than 65nm?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...15028,N82E16819115037,N82E16819115029&bop=And

    im not sure,out of those three, should i get. well its either the 2.66ghz conroe, or the 3.0ghz wolfdale, but im not sure whats the difference with the core name.
     
  2. lowpro804

    lowpro804 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks the links did help. i also want to know, would i need a special board to use 45nm cpu? or would a motherboard that supports core 2 duo 65nm chips also work with 45nm?
     
  4. lowpro804

    lowpro804 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well im pretty shure the 3 cpu's you have there in the first link will work with 1 board if of course made for it because all the socket types are the same , i read that also in the link you gave with you first post.

    And just a personal note id take the core 2 duo 3.0-GHz E8400 wolfdale and its has a bigger L2 cache
     
  5. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    why is the wolfdale cheper than the conroe though? isnt the wolfdale one newer?
     
  6. lowpro804

    lowpro804 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes Yes Your right and honestly i dont reallt know but it all comes down to what your trying to do like games, video editing, etc. like if the only game you want to play requiers a 2.0 cpu then buy a 2.2 and be done ,you dont need a 3.0 but it would be nice ....so what im trying to say is build your computer around you and make it do what you want it to do. also a gameing rig will cost youi a bit more then normal because of all the demanding requierments,....kinda went off subject but just an overview iwas told long time ago and helped me out :)
     
  7. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The Wolfdale is the newer C2D, that is supposed to be able to overclock to 4Ghz easily. It has a newer and better architecture, and therefore should be faster than the others.

    To tell you the truth, I have no idea why they price the E6850 higher than the E8400 as the E8400 is better. I think it may have to do with the size of the chip, as the E8400 is a 45nm chip and the E6850 is 65nm.
    Usually the chip that is smaller will produce less heat...
     
  8. lowpro804

    lowpro804 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well i dont know either but pick the best one for your dollar, and im running a AMD64 x2 2.60 GHz and it was factory 2.32 GHz and its running at a decent 29c to 32c ( O/C ) thats not bad considering what i put it through in the run of a day.

    So are you a gammer or editor of some sort .......or do you just want a freakin nice rig ? lol
     
  9. lowpro804

    lowpro804 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    (just for fun) but notice the ad's that are in these post's ? lol
     
  10. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yeah, I use the rig for both, video editing and gaming.

    The rig is mostly for gaming though.
     
  11. lowpro804

    lowpro804 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well i say go with the wolfdale i do a bit of bolth myself and thats what i would pick and nice mobo too nicely geard
     
  12. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    wolfdale it is! thanks guys!
     
  13. lowpro804

    lowpro804 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No prob it's what we all do !
     
  14. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well since i made this thread, im also wondering, about a video card. i know im getting a HD3850, but i dont know which manufacture to get. and anybody recommend a good HD3850 from newegg? they all are essentially the same right? except for the stock fan that comes with it?
     
  15. lowpro804

    lowpro804 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well man iknow anything Nvidia is going to be a nice card , and they have good driver support for there products ,

    ATI is too expensive for what you get i find anyway but do reserch

    i highly recomend NVIDIA !
     
  16. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ^I don't. ATi products dont cost a lot anyways, the 3870 is around $250, with the 8800GT around $270.

    Besides, if you get a 3850, you have a more future proof card as DX10.1 is almost right around the corner, as well as shader 4.1.

    I kinda feel bad for the people that all bought 8800GTs, and now they'll have to upgrade to a newer card when DX10.1 comes out if they want AA to work in Vista.

    DX10.1, shader 4.1, GDDR4, PCI-e 2.0, and a card that doesn't cheat in games to get better frame rates.

    EDIT: To answer your question, go for a brand like Sapphire, HIS or ASUS.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2008
  17. lowpro804

    lowpro804 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well you make a good point Waymon3X6 i cant mess with that, but i get better help for my nvidia and less problems then my computer with the ATI card in it , and Nvidia is "The way its ment to be played" ....bit of humor ,lol
     
  18. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i also noticed that theres an HD 3870. Do you guys think that its worth it to spend around 30 USD more for an upgrade from 3850 to 3870? is there a big difference between the two?
     
  19. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    100% yes. The 3870 is better than the 3850.
     
  20. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just wondering though, what is the difference between those two? they both are 512mb and such. i googled the benchmarks between them and it seems like the 3870 is better than the 3850, but im not sure if its a 30USD difference. also, is it possible to overclock the 3850, making it better than an unclocked 3870? ill have a 550W psu also.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2008

Share This Page