1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Decrypter Vs. Nero Express

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by F43, Feb 10, 2005.

1. F43

F43 Member

Hello :)

Very much a newbie here, have made 3 back-ups (Fuji Japanese DVD-R) of the same original DVD (3.1GB/NON-CSS). Burning to an external 16X Samsung drive USB 2.0

OK, did the first 2 backups with Nero Express...both backups play fine on computers but NOT on my standalone (get 'Disk Error' when inserted in player)

Getting a little frustrated so thought I'd try my 3rd attemp at burning with DVDDecrypter. I made ISO to harddrive and then burned at 2X (something I was not able to figure out with Nero, any hints for dropping burn speed with Neri? ANYWAY, Good news! This third backup plays (almost) perfect on my standlone! Occasionally playback will skip for split-second but continue, how can I correct this?

Was this success on standlone because of different program or dropped burn speed? Is there ANY advantage to dropping it to 1X? I certainly will if it will increase my back-ups compatability with standalone units?

Looking forward to any experienced help, Regards, F43

2. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member

This all has more to do with the media you are using than any other factor..
    Decreasing the burn speed could help if your HD is having a hard time keeping up with your burner or burner keeping up with HD. either way this is pretty common with external burner's. Also Nero has been know to have issues with external burners so burning with Decrypter might be a better idea for now until Ahead can get all the bugs ironed out with Nero, but you could try to install the latest ASPI drivers and give Nero another shot, this could solve your problems.