1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 2805 questions

Discussion in 'Receivers and amplifiers' started by darien87, Nov 12, 2005.

1. darien87

darien87 Member

Hello all,

Newbie here. I tried doind a search and didn't find the info I was looking for. I am replacing my old Yamaha receiver with a Denon 2805, (it'll be here next week). I stumbled onto this site while doing research on the 2805. Some of the things I read here is what influenced me to buy the unit.

My questions are these:

In reading another thread, someone mentioned hooking up all components to the 2805 using digital connections, due to the high quality of the 2805's processors or something like that. What does this mean? With my DVD player, I currently have the sound going through a fiber optic cable and the video going through component cables to my HDTV. I know that once I get the 2805 all of my components will hook up to the 2805, then just one set of cables goes to the TV.

I don't think my CD player has anything other than RCA jacks, (it's pretty old).

I pretty much just use my current receiver for home theater. I don't listen to much music at home. About all I have hooked up is my CD player and my PS2.

Will the video up-conversion make my non-HD channels look better on my HDTV? Right now I only have about 10 HD channels on my cable system. Those channels look great, but the non-HD channels look like crap.

Also, what is the benefit of banana plugs? I saw some at Radio Shack today, but they run about $10 a pair. Seems a tad pricey.

By the way, my speakers are Boston Acoustics VR2 fronts with a PV500 sub. Boston Acoustic rears and a Yamaha center speaker.

Thanks for the help. Sorry for all the questions, but as I said, I'm a bit of a newbie. I'd call myself a "middle of the road video/audiophile. I don't buy the best equipment. But I know what sounds good and I do research and make sure I get good equipment.