1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Desperately needing Help

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by tuubing, Oct 22, 2003.

1. tuubing

tuubing Member

I am new to the DVD burning experience, and nothing has gone right yet. I bought an Iomega internal burner and had someone install it for me. Ever since I got it back I have to open up my DVD burner as soon as I start the computer or it will just get stuck on my HP blue screen (I have Windows XP). When I go to burn a movie with DVDXcopy it will do everything that it needs to do and then it says Write failure when it starts to copy to the disc. If my computer goes to stand-bye mode then the computer freezes on the blue screen. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

2. Bodene

Bodene Regular member

First of all, don't allow windows to go into standby or sleep mode. Historically, it crashes or applications mess up when this is used. As usual, microsoft added a function to their OS that isn't perfected. Mebbe LongHorn will be better.

Secondly, it looks like you need to get a bit more familiar with yer puter. The first thing I'd do is uninstall all the software and drivers for the burner and reinstall them yerself. This will help u get better acquainted with yer system. You'll thank yerself later, cuz familiarity with yer puter is imperative when burning dvd's. If you had a bad software install, or if your firmware is out of date, it can cause the problems yer mentioning. Since someone else did it, there's no telling what they did to get the software to install.

Lastly, go to the manufacturer's website and look on their FAQ or message boards. There may be others who have had the same problems. Blue screen errors are usually, in my experience, due to a screw up in drivers or software or even hardware installation. They prolly have customer support also....so try that if reinstalling the software and drivers doesn't help.

3. a_reader