1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digivox T mmds get it going (UPDATED)

Discussion in 'Digital TV - United States & Canada' started by tdtd80, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. tdtd80

    tdtd80 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi,
    People are like myself and like step by step instruction on how things go with these free/view boxes. I didn’t know what all this stuff was when I came on here either.

    To get the digivox T going read all of this:
    Print out and read a few times to know what you are about to do

    What will be talked about:
    1. RS232 cable
    2. Firmware
    3. Flashing
    4. Downloader 10
    5. .bin files
    6. MMDS
    7. Power Supply DC Adapters


    Where to find above:

    MMDS these are the aerials on the roof Mesh
    http://www.bubblesupplies.co.uk/categories/MMDS-Ariels-&-Power-Supply's/

    RS232 Cable (there are 2 and do the same):
    Female to Female
    http://www.crown-sat.com/image/mid/rs232-cable-big.jpg
    USB
    http://www.nexus-computers.co.uk/shop/images/USB_to_RS232_cable.jpg

    FLASHING:
    This is where you connect your RS232 cable from your computer to your digivox T

    FIRMWARE:
    This is updating your digivox T with the latest software
    (e.g.) from version 3.1 to version 3.2

    DOWNLOADER 10:
    This is the software (exe) that you use to update your digivox T.
    When the digivox T is connected to your computer by the RS232 cable you RUN this software.

    .BIN FILE:
    This is the file that the Downloader 10 looks for to update your digivox T.

    POWER SUPPLY AC ADAPTER
    http://www.bubblesupplies.co.uk/products/Mmds-Power-Supply-DC-Adapters.html#

    This is for Digivox T free view box:

    Please note that some sites may want you to join…………
    So join and then re-enter the link and the files should be there….

    First of all you get the Downloader 10 (exe) file
    http://www.4shared.com/file/41965575/d5b673c2/_2__downloader10.html

    Now get the .bin file
    http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums/downloads/starview/23/digivox-t-mmds-v3300-521/


    Now the best thing to do here is
    Make a folder on you desktop called XYZ (just a name)
    And put the downloader 10 and .bin file in there.(by doing this it will find the file itself)

    Connect the digivox T to your computer by using the RS232 cable
    Now I read on this site that you are better off XP and not VISTA for this so if you are not very good at computers get a hand here. (ask your children you will be surprised what they know)

    Turn on the digivox T

    Now go into that folder (XYZ)…. Run the downloader 10 (exe) (double-click on it)
    Check to see if “APP” is selected
    Now press BROWSE to find the .bin file (usually it will find it, if it’s in the same folder as the downloader 10) OR find it by looking for that folder called XYZ on the desktop that you made earlier
    When you find that .bin file,
    Click DOWNLOAD
    A process bar will then appear and start to fill up
    Wait for DOWNLOAD WINDOW to say COMPLETE
    Turn off the digivox T and remove the cable

    Now you have FLASHED the digivox T with the latest FIRMWARE using the DOWNLOADER 10 (exe) through the RS232 cable.

    Now you connect your digivox T to the TV.

    Assuming you have all this:
    The lead from the aerial goes into the bronze part of the MMDS POWER SUPPLY AC ADAPTER called DOWNCONVERTER
    Now the lead from your digivox T goes into the bronze part of the MMDS POWER SUPPLY AC ADAPTER called TV
    Plug in the MMDS POWER SUPPLY AC ADAPTER into wall for power
    Connect the digivox T to your TV by the scart lead
    Turn on your TV
    Turn on the digivox T
    You will notice that the digivox T will overwrite all channels and come on your Tv screen.

    A screen with stars on it will appear (or press MENU)
    Press INSTALLATION (OK)
    Scroll down and turn ANTENNA to “ON”
    Scroll up and perform and AUTOMATIC SCAN (OK)
    You will notice channels coming up let it finish
    When this is finished it will start to update LET IT
    The digivox T will go from 1 – 200% (You can stop this)
    Next you press MENU
    Scroll down to SYSTEM INFORMATION (OK)
    This screen will tell you about your digivox DATE, MAKE, VERSION (this should be update with the date you flashed the box eg 3.300)
    Now while this screen is there………
    Press 1004 on the remote control
    A new menu will appear
    Scroll down to emu and turn it “ON” (right >) turns it on
    Please note the “EMU” must always be “ON”
    Press EXIT a couple of times to get back
    You will now notice that the digivox T will go from 1 – 100
    And all channels will be there.

    I done this from memory so I hope that everything is now working for you
    And a special THANKS to all the people that helped me
    Now from time to time I see that messages posted here MAY GET EDITED so if does im sorry.
    Its all explained from other members of this site so give a look about

    T
     
  2. tdtd80

    tdtd80 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    One more thing,
    If you are in doubt, get professional help
    1. Picking out what you need
    2. Installing aerial and AC Converters

    Messing with electricity is DANGEROUS

    and PLEASE note that look about for prices when buying things
    I am not trying to get you to buy from the above sites
    And im only TRYING TO HELP and i dont hold any responibility for anything going wrong with boxes as I said read more about this on this site

    T
     
  3. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,625
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    the correct cable is null modem cable and all files and loaders and tuts in eamos library on site
    there are 2 cables one straight wired =wont work
    null modem cable that has a crossover wire for flashing/updating,as most people get wrong cable so cannot update boxes.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2009
  4. tdtd80

    tdtd80 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    TO ALL USERS:

    reading MY thread TDTD80 (about the digivox T)

    *** if anyone adds more or corrects me ****
    it is probably "GOOD" advise so read all comments

    im trying to do it step by step

    thanks to C (above)

    and as i said earlier, its all on this site
    so have a good look around

    SO the cable you need is a "NULL MODEM CABLE" to connect the digivox T to your computer

    T
     
  5. tdtd80

    tdtd80 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That "NULL MODEM CABLE" must have a CROSSOVER WIRE for flashing

    there are 2 so dont get the wrong one
    as far as i know it comes with the digivox T

    again thanks to C

    T
     
  6. pssnger57

    pssnger57 Guest

    i have n*l mmds ashbourne,anyone know if i can replace it with digivox t
    ,my own aerial,and my own converter and cancel....
    anyone recommend an aerial to buy if i can
     
  7. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,625
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    no wrong provider c****s mmds uses digivox t boxes as in dvb/t
    u need a dvb/c box like digivox xl.
     
  8. Jimme

    Jimme Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi,

    I'm about to purchase a MMDS ariel, downconverter and power supply. I've used SatAndCable in the past, but now they only stock 18db ariels. I am guessing that a 21db would be better?

    I've just looked at the site http://www.bubblesupplies.co.uk but am hesitant to provide my credit card details to a site I've never heard of. Also, I don't know if their products are of a good quality?

    Has anyone ordered form this site and used their equipment? Thanks
     
  9. tdtd80

    tdtd80 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i bought a digivox T a couple of weeks ago from them...
    i had no problems
    but i was paying in Euros for
    2 x boxes
    2 x aerials
    2 x downconverters
    and when i went to pay the total was €292.00

    then it went to stelling(£)on the next page of the site
    it was £269
    when i checked and concerted it to euros its came up as €305
    and when i got my bill it was €305 too

    so the best thing to do is pay by PAYPAL if you feel doubtful
    as for the box itself its working away fine
    i have all the channels
    with no problems
    fingers crossed

    T
     
  10. yammagamm

    yammagamm Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    jimme.18 db gain should be perfect as downconverter also has a gain. as far as i see its all 18db aerials used as i drive around country. if i remember right you are around limerick/clare ?
     
  11. Jimme

    Jimme Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yammagamm,

    went ahead and bought the 21db gain ariel. a little extra gain can't hurt - can it?

    i'm in the cork area. my friend had the full mmds system set up and working for the past few years. over the past 2 months the quality has been slowly deteriorating. we've tried to isolate the problem, but no luck. so we're now re-building system from scratch (downconverter, power supply & ariel).

    we recon that some growing trees or new building work may be slightly obstructing the signal, so I opted to get a slightly stronger ariel (21db gain). not sure if it will help. will report back in a week or two to let ye know.

    thanks
     
  12. hynzyem

    hynzyem Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If chorus are installin ariel etc, wat do i need? do i still need a down converter and all other stuff? or do i jus need to get box and flash it??? all help appreciated
     
  13. blissirl

    blissirl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Head is wrecked .
    Used to cable sys modems tv boxes n00b to mmds.
    Digivox t with v 3.3 firm tried adding channels.bin can see channel lists but no signal.
    i am using the [-]+++++ shaped ariel lol (not mesh type with down sampler) i have clear line of sight to airport in cork.
    All i get is no signal all the neighbours are pointing in same direction autoscan returns nothing really quickly like 3 secs to scan.
    Do i need a better antenna or can i use some kind of db reading device to check i am getting 70db ?
     
  14. cuebase

    cuebase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,
    and i will have u up and runing in few mins.

    John
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2009
  15. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,625
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    remove ur email address thats a nono u can send a pm to that person by clicking on the head icon on their post,and all the info is here just reading is a help.
     
  16. blissirl

    blissirl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    got the PM cuebase CHEERS cactkid !
     
  17. tipp4liam

    tipp4liam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, I have the digivox t, and have set up the everything, i think i have flashed correctly as s/w version is v03.30000t 22 dec 2008.
    When i go to do a automatic scan no channels appear at all. emu is on, antenna power is on. What am I missing? Thanks
     
  18. tdtd80

    tdtd80 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    assuming that you flashed the box right
    go to

    MENU..
    SYSTEM INFORMATION...

    it should say

    Model Name Digivox-T
    S/W V03-3.000T
    Boot Version 01
    Date 22.DEC.2008


    Only turn on EMU after auto-scan (MENU...SYSTEM INFORMATION...1004)
    BUT turn on ANTENNA before SCANNING

    if you can bring your box to a friends house to see if its working that would narrow down a lot of things
    people are having trouble with the down-converters as well and
    is the aerial on the transmitter ???
    check all cables for connections too

    just some suggestions


    what kind of aerial have you ???
    i bought the one you put together yourself, i didnt use it but some of my friends had trouble with it

    https://www.bubblesupplies.co.uk/categories/Satellite-and-Cable/MMDS-Ariels-%26-Power-Supply%27s/

    the above one is the one that people cant get working

    i got my hands on a chou*s aerial




    T
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2009
  19. tipp4liam

    tipp4liam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi tdlt80

    Thanks for help....did all that and still no channels being stored or detected.

    just checked the software you mentioned and that matches and box was flashed with that s/w.

    I wonder is it the aerial or down convertor...am currently using AM-G24 (mmds Ch***s) and with mmds downconvertor with 32db gain as seen on sat&cable plus mmds adaptor model: sc-AD03 18v(powerpack)...whtat type you using?

    thanks again for you help

    PS the software on the systems info matches the 1 you mention except it S/W V03-3.0000T on tv (extra zero) as supposed to V03-3.000T you state....probably being pedantic here...but you never know!


     
  20. tdtd80

    tdtd80 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i left out "0" sorry...

    i have this one

    ...MMDS power supply (for Chorus Ireland / MMDS dish) 24V

    FROM...

    https://www.bubblesupplies.co.uk/categories/Satellite-and-Cable/MMDS-Ariels-%26-Power-Supply%27s/

    you seem to be tryin all the right things

    1. position of aerial (is ok)
    2. cables (ok)
    3. firmware (ok)
    4. antenna on (ok)
    5. auto scan (ok)
    6. EMU on (ok)

    the best thing to do is take it to a friends house and just try the box on its own to see if it ok (if you can)

    as i was sayin the down-converter was fauty on a friends box

    there are selling by the hundreds...
    so a very small % will be faulty...

    i wrote the thread for people to follow step by step
    as i was delighted to get it going myself
    im really not sure about aerials and power supplies
    i got a chor*s aerial and put it up myself and done the cables too
    i was in direct site to the transmitter and after the first go it worked
    keep reading the threads and i hope that some-one will add more for you
    i hope that you get sorted soon


    T


     

Share This Page