1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disc Degradation

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by bofh1971, May 2, 2005.

1. bofh1971

bofh1971 Member

Hiya Guys

First of all, the site is great, lots of info for me to continue reading.
    I have done searches and browsed some posts but cannot seem to find a question like mine, so here goes.

This has been driving me crazy.
    I successfully backup a dvd, it plays fine in a standalone player....the first time. Now normally I would go after fingermarks and the like but I am beginning to think that I am the victim of some fading dye plot.
    the dvd's stop working or breakup on the second or third attempt at playing them, or even first time if they have been left a couple of days.

I have tried both Ritek and Datawrite GO4 dye discs.
    I have also changed my dvd writer. First one was ASUS 18 months old, for a new NEC.

Being a pc technician I have done the usual checks, software updates etc.

Is there any evidence that disks are fading over short periods of time, or am I just paranoid and need to sort out a simple problem, due to my n00bness.

Many thanks for any help

BOFH1971
    p.s. sorry guys, where is my head at... heres the technical info.
    DVD Drive: NEC DVD RW ND3520A
    dvd shink 3.2
    nero express (cheapy oem edition) 6.0.0.20

I didnt really think I needed to update the burning software any further due to successful first viewings. however something did just occur to me, is it just the way the dvd playback device is handling errors, i.e. managing to playback until the error count gets to high, meaning sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt?
    I dont know, just me specualting.

Last edited: May 2, 2005
  2. squizzle

squizzle Active member