1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

display properties help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by evil123, May 14, 2004.

  1. evil123

    evil123 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When i started my computer the resoultion is really messed up and the its only showing 4 bit colors. I already tryed to change the settings in display properties but it wont let me change the resolution and theres only one choice of the bit color. It was working perfectly yestoday and when i start in safe mode all the colors are there so when i start in normal it changes to 4 bit color.
     
  2. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Have you tried to let Windows find and install your display adapter driver again. It sounds like it defaulted to a old type driver for some reason.

    Jerry
     
  3. ShadowNyt

    ShadowNyt Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes - this tends to happen when:
    1) you just installed a new GF card and have not installed the drivers yet.

    2) The drivers you use are not compatible with either the HW or your operating system - i.e. XP

    3) The install process crashed so the drivers don't work.

    For all three possibilities - go the web site of the driver maker - say NVIDIA or ATI radeon - get the absolute latest drivers for your exact card type - (with NVIDIA the one driver works for almost all) and make sure it is the correct driver for your OS.

    Then install it, re-start. then adjust your properties.
     
  4. oneacer

    oneacer Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you tried everything above with no results I would suggest that you may have a bad video card.
     
  5. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    What video card do you have installed? What Operating System do you have ?

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  6. evil123

    evil123 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have a windows xp and recently did buy a video card its a geforece mx 4000 but the day before this happend it was working perfectly
     
  7. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    If you had an on MB video before the new card install, you may have a coflict. You must disable the old video adapter before you install the new card and drivers.

    Jerry
     

Share This Page