1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

divx movies dload to standalone player

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by mytchm, Mar 23, 2005.

1. mytchm

mytchm Member

Hi
    I am a newbie here and want to know the best method to take a divx movie and watch it on a stand alone player. I own several DVD players none of which p[lay divx or recognize a DVD ram disk. I am considering a phillips DVDR642 player. my questions...

1. Is it better to convert Divx movie to DVD? seems to me there is a quality loss particularly if you go to a 4.7GB DVD.

2.Is there such a thing a cheap dual layer DVD media?

3. If I keep the movie as DIVX do you convert it to a DIVXDVD disk somehow or just load it onto a DVD or CD disk?

4. What if you want to put several Divx movies on one dvd?

5. Can you put menus on it?

6. Will Divx players dissappear leaving me with disks I can only play on computer?

Thank you in advance for any answers to any of these questions

Mytch

2. aldaco12

aldaco12 Active member

The answer is: garbage IN = garbege OUT. You cannot encrease the quality of a movie, you can only worsen it or keeping it equal. Therefore, using VCDs to view 700 MB AVI movies (or putting 6 VCD movies on a DVD) if the best thing, rather converting a 700 MB AVI into a 4.5 GB VOB.

Menus, may movies...this is authoring stuff. Use a good authorning application (my suggestion is DVDLab) and study some guides about that in http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/ .

DivX player have the same probability to disappar than normal DVD players have...

3. shiroh

shiroh Guest

well i bought a cheap dvd player.
    usually on the old player, playing svcd which is 480x480 looks great as a full res dvd.

but the new one resize software stinks. you can see jaggies and other crap.
    maybe i should check its setup more.

why i'm posting this ?
    i don't know

4. Mick69

Mick69 Guest