1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need 2 HDMI inputs?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by goducks, Nov 15, 2006.

  1. goducks

    goducks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If my sony kv30hs420 has one hdmi input, do I put the dvd (upconvert) into the only HDMI? if so where does the HD cable go--doesnt that need to be HDMI as well to get HD from the cable company?
     
  2. eatsushi

    eatsushi Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. goducks

    goducks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks...

    dont most HDTV's only have one HDMI output? if so does everydoby buy splitters?

     
  4. eatsushi

    eatsushi Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Most new models I've seen have 2. The Sony SXRD XBR2's have 3. Also be careful - splitters are different from switchers. Don't buy a splitter. If you need multiple inputs going to a one input HDTV you need a switcher. Splitters go from one source (example a DVD player) to 2 HDTV's.
     
  5. ChiknLitl

    ChiknLitl Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Most of the upconverting DVD players only do so via HDMI or DVI outputs, whereas, you should be able to get 1080i from the HD cable through the component output/input.
     
  6. gerry1

    gerry1 Guest

    @goducks...I have the same problem / a sony with only one HDMI. You can get a device like this that will add imputs without any real detriment for interrupting the signal. The have some much cheaper than the one here but don't get the dollar store specials either LOL! Always get decent equipment.

    http://www.simaproducts.com/products/product_detail.php?product_id=552

    Goducks, you absolutely MUST use the DVI or HDMI to get the upconverted picture from your player. If you've connected it in a different way, you'l still get a picture, perhaps even a good picture, but it won't be the upconverted pic. You need to use the HDMI / DVI to get the upconverted pic ... that's actually the law for fear of pirating the analog holes. So, you must use that input. TO connect your HD cable, you're going to need to use the red white and green component cables .... and, while digital to digital will give a better pic because of the direct and unprocessed signal, it is my opinion that you need to have the eyes of an eagle to tell the difference between HDMI and component cables.

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 15, 2006
  7. dblbogey7

    dblbogey7 Guest

    The monoprice 5x1 HDMI switcher has garnered great reviews even from the die-hard AV enthusiasts at avsforums.com:

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=640183&highlight=monoprice+hdmi+switch

     
  8. goducks

    goducks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sounds good--thanks

    I forgot to ask about the sound--what type of cables(usually) go to an AV surround sound system? HDMI, component, composit?

    Also, I just bought the RCA upconverting DVD player with the included HDMI cable and it has HDMI settings for 480p, 720p and 1080i. Which is the best setting for my sony tube hd ready tv?


    thanks for your help!
     
  9. ChiknLitl

    ChiknLitl Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The HDMI cables carry an (uncompressed?)two channel digital audio signal. I'm assuming your reciever does not have HDMI inputs because of the nature of this thread. What I've done is turn off the T.V.'s speakers and run digital optical/coax from the DVD player to the reciever. Or if your T.V. has a digital optical output you might be able to plug everything into the T.V. then run digital optical from there to the reciever, although I have not done this in the past.
     
  10. ChiknLitl

    ChiknLitl Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh, and about the resolution settings, some people prefer to set the DVD player to 480i and let the T.V. do the upconversion (for fixed pixel displays), I personally like to set my DVD player to 1080i. If you've got a CRT T.V. I would suggest setting the player to the highest resolution of the T.V., be it 720p or 1080i. Obviously your personal taste should govern the final settings. Don't be afraid to fool around with the set up.
     
  11. eatsushi

    eatsushi Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Actually HDMI can carry up to 8 channels of uncompressed digital audio at 192kHz sampling with 24 bits/sample as well as Dolby Digital and DTS. Version 1.3 allows lossless high bit rate streams such as Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio. Some next-gen HD-DVD players are reported to have the HDMI 1.3 spec.

    If you don't have an HDMI receiver then ChiknLitl's suggestion is the way to go - use digital coax or optical.


     
  12. ChiknLitl

    ChiknLitl Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There you have it! I was wondering about that whole HDMI audio thing. Thanks.
     
  13. gerry1

    gerry1 Guest

    YOu can also use HDMI to your TV so that it delivers both video and digital audio and then connect optical or coax to the receiver that way there you can use the TV only when sound isn't all that important and use the receiver for good digital sound when sound matters like movies or whatever as opposed to gillian reruns LOL!

    If your DVD player and TV have the six RCA analog cables inputs/outputs for 5.1 (I don't mean HDMI, Coax or Optical)...connect them too....well worth the trouble and expense for DVDs and CDs with those six seperate analog tracks. If you don't know what I mean let me know and I'll post some pics. So many people think that optical does exactly the same and that isn't the case at all.
     
  14. ChiknLitl

    ChiknLitl Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I saw some of the pics you posted in another thread (with notes! very helpful)and, unfortunately for me, my reciever has 7.1 inputs but my DVD player only has coax digital out! Sooner or later that will be my next upgrade.
     
  15. gerry1

    gerry1 Guest

    LOL! I certainly wouldn't dump my dvd player for that reason! Its something you don't use all that often ... but its awesome with certain movies. Apparantly, putting those six totally seperate soundtracks in the movie is very expensive and only the most expensive of movies will bother.
     

Share This Page