1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need a DVD Rom drive ??

Discussion in 'DVD-ROM drives' started by brad_uk, Feb 10, 2005.

1. brad_uk

brad_uk Guest

Hi there,

I am fairly new to copying DVD's but currently use DVD Shink and DVD Decryter with great sucess. I currently have a Lite On Cd/DVD Re-writer.

I just want to know the advantages of a ROM drive ?? Does this mean I can copy straight from one drive to the other without saving the file on my hard drive ??

Would it be better to get another burner drive so I can copy two dvd to my hard drive or use DVD shrink to copy two dvd's from hard drive to disc ??

Or should I get both ??

Would I need anything else i.e. higer ram. I currently have AMD 3000+ processor and 512 ram and 160gb hard drive.

Any comments welcome.

Cheers

Brad

2. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

get the dvd-rom as less wear & tear on burner

3. dlc2000

dlc2000 Regular member

most burners are locked so ripping with a dvd rom would be faster than ripping with your burner . and as ddp stated , less wear and tear on your burner .

4. Starbuck1

Starbuck1 Guest

Your Cpu, Memory and HD are fine; no upgrades needed for an add on Dvd-rom. It definitely adds extra flexibility too along with what ddp and dlc* suggested; alot less wear and tear on a fairly expensive device (dvd burner) dvd-rom's are cheap at around 30 bucks. Burn time will be alot faster too; yes, you can copy from dvd-rom to burner. I suppose you will connect to secondary IDE on the mobo; be sure to check proper jumper settings on the 2 devices sharing the same ribbon/round cable and mobo EIDE connection. Keep us posted.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 1, 2005
  5. brad_uk

brad_uk Guest

Thanks for your responses. I think I will get a ROM drive.

Shall I get an ON Lite model so it is comatable with my On Lite burner ??

Is there much difference using DVD Decryter and DVD Shrink with 2 drives?

Brad