1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I NEED CloneDVD... or something else?

Discussion in 'Copy DVD to DVDR' started by Mom22, Dec 29, 2007.

1. Mom22

Mom22 Member

Hi - I'm really a newbie although I've been backing up my DVDs for about 4 years using what I've learned here. I've been using DVD Shrink to rip and encode (with AnyDVD running in the background), and then burning with DVD Decrypter. I use Taiyo Yuden blanks. Everything was great - until I hit "Hairspray" and burned several coasters before remembering to check the forums here! After reading through the whole Hairspray thread, I downloaded the freebie trial of CloneDVD and was successful. Now I've got to make a decision fast with the 1/1/08 deadline approaching!

My question now is, are there any freeware programs out there that are still being updated to handle the newest encryption forms that seem to be popping up daily? Obviously I can't get any updates on Shrink here anymore - is it available elsewhere? Several posters mentioned DVDFab Decrypter, that also isn't available here. I'm really not too technically saavy, so I don't want to have to go through several programs to achieve what I've been doing with Shrink & Decrypter. I just don't want to be left out in the cold now that they seem to be getting too old to handle the job.

I also read that encoders like Shrink do a better job than transcoders like CloneDVD - don't know if that's just someone's opinion, or fact. Is it really an appreciable difference when viewing the movie? Gotta admit, I was amazed at how fast Clone did the job, after being used to Shrink... but if it's not going to be as good, I'm not going to want to spend the money.

Sorry for the wordy post, but I've got so many questions! Thanks for any/all input.

2. bilbo65

bilbo65 Regular member