1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need more than XP's firewall?

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by tom34diy, Jul 15, 2006.

  1. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello, I just learned that my new Dell with Windows XP apparently has its own firewall, so do I still need to get a third party firewall such as Norton Internet Security or one through my ISP? In other words, do you all think I am covered for most things if I have XP's firewall and Norton antivirus? Thanks for any input. Tom
     
  2. Niobis

    Niobis Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You could continue to use it, your choice, but there are many [bold]better[/bold] third party firewalls. Just remember to turn off Windows' firewall if you get another. Using two is like not using one.

    As for the antivirus, Norton is weak. This should help alot. http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/292257
     
  3. rav009

    rav009 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yes tom34diy, you need more than windows firewall.

    Windows firewall only works "one way", meaning a full software firewall will do much more for you.

    Take a look at the guide, it need's updating and I'm in the process of doing so.

    Remember to turn windows firewall off after you've installed your new firewall :)

    Start > controll panel > Secuirty centre > Window's firewall OFF.
     
  4. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,877
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Yes I agreee its better to have a third party firewall windows firewall is standard for my liking and is weak and u will become an easy tarfet still.

    Its better to go with a company that specialises in this field.
     
  5. Xian

    Xian Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    As rav009 said, Windows Firewall only works one way. What that meeans is that it only blocks packets coming from the Internet. The Windows firewall allows everything to be transmitted out to the Internet. If you get a virus or trojan then nothing is preventing it from sending info out to the Internet. A good home firewall should also only permit allowed programs to go out as well, and they have to ask permission the first time they try to access the internet. That functionalitly is not in the Windows Firewall until Vista comes out, but I don't know of any commercial firewall for home use that doesn't have that feature.
     
  6. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a lot for the good info. Guess I will have to go buy the firewall software. Since I have Norton AV, would it be better for me to use their Internet Security (firewall) software instead of someone elses? Tom
     
  7. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,877
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Well I would say yes NIS is good enough to do the job and thats what i use. But a lot of people here would say differently, so its up to you.
     
  8. rav009

    rav009 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  9. andersg

    andersg Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I've had AVG all along but when I read this thread I realized I had to turn off Windows Firewall. Now this annoying balloon at the bottom of my screen keeps popping up saying "Windows does not detect a firewall, click here to fix the problem" or something like that. Is there any way to stop the balloon or get windows to detect AVG?
     
  10. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Control Panel. Security Center. In the Resources section, click on Change the way Security Center alerts me. Uncheck all three boxes.*

    * - For those using Spybot Search and Destroy, it will detect that change in the alert section and label it in red, labeled Windows Security. Don't allow Spybot to make the corrections or that bubble will come back.
     
  11. andersg

    andersg Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    But then I will no longer get those bubbles for anything again right? Is there a way to just change it for that one program?
     
  12. kiss11

    kiss11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    dont know whats up with my pc?
    when i go to >Change the way Security Center alerts me. Uncheck all three boxes.* i cant do anything . is there something stoping it


     
  13. redwash1

    redwash1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    there are also free stuff, sygate, zonealarm...etc; to try out if you,like then you can buy full copy. Private surfing is also great.
     
  14. ZIZI88

    ZIZI88 Guest

    I have three firewalls, I can recommend Sygate.
     
  15. nickberry

    nickberry Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    andersg:
    AVG is an Anti Virus by Grisoft (hence AVG) - not a firewall. That is why when you turned off the Windows Firewall is gave you that warning balloon.
     
  16. andersg

    andersg Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I see. I turned off windows firewall in the first place hoping my torrent would download faster. Not much luck so far though
     
  17. neptune

    neptune Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you dont need to turn windows firewall off to download your torrents faster .just set the settings to allow your torrent client .as for windows firewall it is junk download zone alarm .i did and works very well.its a pain at first to let all your stuff in but when thats all configured u should be ok.
     
  18. andersg

    andersg Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I'm thinking bout ZoneAlarm but for now I think I'll stick with the Windows one cause I am too lazy to let all the stuff through. Maybe tomorrow lol
     
  19. neptune

    neptune Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you will get less junk in your pc with zone alarm.i used to use windows firewall until about 2 days ago .at first zone alarm is a little bit a pain in the butt .but once u get it strait it is cool.this is wierd my ie and others seem faster now .
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2006
  20. andersg

    andersg Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Now that you have ZoneAlarm?
     

Share This Page