1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

does my tv have the digital tuner in it?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by dragnandy, Apr 4, 2008.

1. dragnandy

dragnandy Regular member

i hope im using the rights words in here because im kind of new to TV's. as i have read long ago and saw on tv the digital thing is comming February and it says that some tv's have the digital tuner built in and some need converter boxes correct? how do i tell if mine has one or not? i doubt it does, but my dad got it a few months ago, and im pretty sure its not a new model but who knows?

im not sure but looking at the manual, i think its a Sony KDL-40S3000

2. attar

attar Senior member

According to your link, it has digital DVB-T terrestrial and a DVB-C cable tuners.

Last edited: Apr 4, 2008
  3. dragnandy

dragnandy Regular member

does this mean that i can use a digital reciever? or that its built in?

sorry for these questions but im unfamiliar with these things. im trying to googling it up and stuff though.

edit: i think that the DVB-C cable is the output where i can use an antenna or converter box for digital boxes. but im not sure about the DVB-T though.

Last edited: Apr 4, 2008
  4. attar

attar Senior member

I'm in North America, and am not familiar with the different terms used in the EU.

5. dragnandy

dragnandy Regular member

oh thats weird being i live in US,North America too. so can you explain what the digital DVB-T terrestrial and a DVB-C cable tuners do?

6. attar

attar Senior member

7. dragnandy

dragnandy Regular member

so my tv is 40", so it doesnt fall in any of those categories. so how can i check if mine has a tv tuner built in?

8. varnull

varnull Guest

Bloody hell.. do you know how retarded this is starting to sound..

Does it have a TV tuner in it??.. YES or it would be sold as a MONITOR!!