1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does the new CloneCD work???

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Odraode, Feb 2, 2005.

1. Odraode

Odraode Member

I bought the new CloneCD suite, the whole shabang, I'm pretty new to it but thought (foolishly) I could figure out how to make it work by reading the online help and/or documentation.
    I was terribly wrong it seems.
    I tried to backup my kid's game CDs with very very poor results.
    I tried downloading Clony XL, XXL, various versions of it.. I read through a couple of threads here (the one about the virtual clone Drive being blacklisted sounded interesting... does that mean that testing the image through it does not give you an idea of what is going to happen once you burn the CD or what..?)
    Is there a user manual with all the different settings I can download somewhere?
    One example, Clony told me the disc I was scanning had only bad sectors here and there and that it was supposedly an easy backup... I created the image with clone CD and tried mounting it with the virtual drive. Result, I got a bunch of audio files instead of the multimedia disk.
    Can someone help me with this.
    Thank you and sorry for the long post.

2. geestar20

geestar20 Active member

What clonyxxxl does is it tells you the type of protection the game has, I wouldnt use it any more as it's pretty much a dead stick. I would highly recommend A-Ray Scanner v2.0.2.0

http://www.aray-software.com/index.php?showtopic=23

Im not to familiar with clonecd for the simple fact that it blacklisted Safedisc protected games so thats why I dont use it but from what I read the newer version of clonecd took care of this blacklisteing

whay version of clonecd are you running and what game is it that you are trying to backup?

Last edited: Feb 2, 2005
  3. Odraode

Odraode Member