1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual-Layer Burning

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by Marty1781, Sep 18, 2004.

1. Marty1781

Marty1781 Member

Newbie here so please bear with me. I did a search and read the guides but didn't find what I was looking for. I want to make a backup copy of a dvd movie and I have the Sony external 700 dual-layer burner and picked up some dual-layer discs. Now what I've read people say is that all I have to do is rip and burn but I can't believe it is that easy. So this is what I am planning on doing. Use DVD Decrypter to rip. After that I don't where to go exactly or which files to burn (should I be using something else to rip like Smart Ripper)? I suppose I go into Nero Burning ROM SE, select "DVD Video" as the type of disc I want to burn and then what? DVD Decrypter only creates a .ISO file and the guide on this site says I should be looking for .bup, .ifo, and .vob files to burn with Nero to put in the Video_TS folder.. I've noticed Smart Ripper creates .vob files but not any .bup or .ifo files. Which ripper should I be using and after that, which files do I burn? Any help would be greatly appreciated as everything I read seems to be a guide for getting a DVD-9 onto a DVD-5. TIA.

Last edited: Sep 18, 2004
  2. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Hi Marty, Welcome to AfterDawn!

Before you waste any of your expensive dual layer discs, practice with some single layer stuff.

Let's clear up just a couple things. If you run Decrypter in the File mode then you will end up with a VIDEO_TS folder with all the correct files in it. Nero will be able to burn this to your disc.

If you use Decrypter in the .iso read mode then you end up with an .iso. At this point you would use the .iso write mode to burn your dual layer disc.

So you really don't need Nero to burn with, Nero can burn an .iso or burn a VIDEO_TS folder, but why not just do it with Decrypter?