1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DUO XII opinions

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by Mark0, Oct 15, 2004.

1. Mark0

Mark0 Guest

ok, soo i just orderd a DUO II for my x-box... just wondering how those of you that have it like it....
    also, i am pretty new with the whole moding thing... i put this computer together so i am somewhat computer litarate but, what is it going to take to throw on an external hard drive and to just copy a microsoft game to my x-box

can I run linux, and play my games?

2. pbailey

pbailey Regular member

Yes to all the above, tho i don't know about external hdd's.

I own and have installed about 5 of these chips, without a prob, s/ware and everything works just like a $120 mod chip, but no jumpers, if you want to use the mod chip, hit the power button, if you want to use live hit the eject button to bypass the mod chip and use the original bios off the m/board (there's a wire you solder from the chip to the eject button to ground it) and one wire to the d0, which should always be referred to as the alternate d0 underneath the m/board, much easier to solder to, and then a pin header, and that's it for pre v1.6 xboxes, and an lpc rebuild on 1.6's. The chip comes preflashed with the bios for the v1.6 on the second bios bank and whatever bios on the first bios bank for pre v1.6's.

All that is the easy part tho, the s/ware side of things is where you'll get your hands dirty, but pretty easy to sort out if you use that pc you built and ftp directly to your xbox. I helped matt, guy on the forums, thru email to setup the unleashx dashboard and alternative skins, it's about 20 light years ahead of evo x and everything works, unlike the ftp probs i get with media x menu (nother kick arse dashboard).

Hope that answers some of your questions.

3. pbailey

pbailey Regular member

nevermind.

Last edited: Oct 17, 2004
  4. Mark0

Mark0 Guest