1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD authoring question...

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by burfie, Feb 19, 2007.

1. burfie

burfie Member

I'm very new to DVDs, let alone DVD authoring.
    This has probably been asked before, but in searching, I couldn't find an answer.
    I have 4 videos that I've already converted to DVD format, ready for burning... I have the vob files in separate VIDEO_TS folders.
    What I'd like to do, is create a DVD, that will have chapters for each video... and a menu at the head. One of the videos has different songs on it, and it would also be nice, to have separate chapters for each song... but this isn't necessary.
    I could easily do this with ConvertXtoDVD, but it would re-encode the vobs I have already encoded. So, this doesn't make sense to me.

Aside from learning DVD-Lab Pro, which is above me now, is there any simple way to load the separate videos, into a program, create menus/chapters, without re-encoding the videos, so I can burn it with ImgBurn?
    By the way, I've stayed away from Nero, because it's seems so bloated... so info about other apps would be appreciated...
    Any help is appreciated... thanks!

Last edited: Feb 19, 2007
  2. laddyboy

laddyboy Regular member

DVD-Lab is probably the way to go to do exactly what you want. Maybe PGCEdit. Both have a learning curve.

I'd use TMPGEnc DVD Author. It's fast, easy to use, and version 1.6 is fully functional in trial mode. By the time you get up to speed with the others, you'd be done.

http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/download/tda16.html

3. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member

How large are these 4 videos?

4. burfie

burfie Member

Yeah, I want to learn DVD-Lab, & seems to be the way to go, but right now I look at it, and haven't a clue ;)
    So, for now, just to clean up the disk space, I'd love something a bit simpler.