1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Burning and Write Protection

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by dgr, Sep 14, 2004.

1. dgr

dgr Guest

Hi I'm new to this so be kind.

I have just got a DVD Burner and want to be able to copy write protected DVD movies. Can anyone help.

The DVD Burner is an external iomega super DVD Writer 12x Dual Format USB 2.0 Drive.

2. keithyb

keithyb Regular member

its simple... go here download it
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd_rippers/dvd_shrink.cfm
    DVD SHRINK ... its free. It will encode the computer onto your hard drive (rip) then you can use a burning program to burn the movie. I use nero. Most movies you copy i would suggest just burning the actually movie. You will see it in DVD shrink when you go to re-authorize it. Just drag the movie over. You can keep all the extras out. Some movies you can copy the entire movie. Look at the compression rate. It the compression rate is below 70% i tend to notice some quality problems. You can uncheck some boxes you dont need also. Like spanish and frech languages. Good luck!
    -Keith

3. dgr

dgr Guest

thanks for the help.

4. bigfoot30

bigfoot30 Member

Hello DGR
    Now, I'm gonna do a no-no and plagerize this thread,,, lol,, This is ScubaPetes wonderful and witty guide to backing up a commercial DVD

Kaa Ching, Kaa Ching -

Today's your lucky day, you just hit the ScubaPete Jackpot for Newbies -

Grab a seat, it's time to relax and read up on a, here we go, step by step - it can’t fail, “Uncle” ScubaPete’s can’t miss “We’re going ta burn a DVD backup right now, youngin’s’” Guide to backing up :p).

First create a folder for your HD backup. . This is the place on your HD where DVD Shrink will work on your movie files and DVD Decrypter can pick them up to burn to disc. Try to put it someplace where you won’t forget it (i.e. C:\All DVD Work\”Pirates on the North Shore of Alaska”).