1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Decrypter ERROR

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by BiggShot, Sep 25, 2004.

1. BiggShot

BiggShot Guest

I'm a newbie at this DVD thing. I'm trying to burn my DVD with DVD Shrink using DVD Decrypter. When Decrypter starts it try's to burn the lead in but doesn't go any further. It gives me an error that reads:

I/O Error

Device: [1:0:0] HP DVD Writer 200j 1.36 (E:)(ATA)

ScsiStatus: 0x02
    Interpretation: Check Condition

CDB: 2A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 20 00
    Interpretation: Write(10)-Sectors:0-31

Sense Area:70 00 03 00 00 00 00 0C 00 00 00 00 73 03 00 00 00 00 00 AF
    Interpretation: Power Calibration Area Error.

Has anyone seen this before? What am I doing wrong?

2. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

You may need to clean your DVD burner, A power calibration error means that for some reason the burner can't read back the data it is writing during the lead in. Changing media sometimes helps.

The following is from Nero FAQ it applies to your Decrypter problem as well:

I get a "Power calibration error" or "Calibration area (almost) full" error message. Why?

Power Calibration is controlled by the recorder.

Before any write operation, all recorders must do a 15 step power test to determine the optimum power for writing to the CD; this is called "Optimum Power Calibration"(OPC). During the write, it continues to do this test to get the best write throughout the whole CD; this is called "Running Optimum Power Calibration" (ROPC).
    This whole process is controlled by the recorder, though initiated by programs such as Nero. There is an area on the inner part of the CD for the test and test data info to be stored. You can use this area up to 999 times.

If you receive the "Power calibration error" or "Power calibration area is (amost) full" error message, the cause will be either poor media, poor power, or a defective recorder.