1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Decrypter or also DVD Shrink, for file backup?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by aldaco12, Apr 11, 2005.

1. aldaco12

aldaco12 Active member

I'm a little ashamed since my 'title' is 'moderator', but on this issue you may call me 'newbie' because I never did anything.
    This is my first attempt to backup a DVD, and sorry if my questions are too trivial.
    The issue is: DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink. I would like to know if DVD Shrink can used as a DVD ripping tool to put the VOBs in a specified directory, so I can use DVD2AVI and TMPGenc Plus to extract from the VOB a (S)VCD like it has ben written in Afterdawn's guides ( http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/dvd2vcd_with_smart_dvd2avi_tmpgenc.cfm for VCDs and http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/dvd2svcd_with_tmpgenc.cfm for SVCDs). Alas, Smartripper is no more being updated and it's unable to rip the new DVDs, so I'm trying do find a good ripper (well, if upgrades on Smatripper have been done, please tell me, but I'm quite confidenf they haven't been done). My choice is going towards DVD Decrypter, bt I'm questioning about the use of DVD Shrink. Will the 'shrinking' added by DVD Shrink prevent me from loading the VOB with TMPGenc + DVD2AVI? Or will TMPGenc + DVD2AVI be able to convert to VCD any properly ripped set of VOB?

2. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member