1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD GLITCH

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by GRAYMATER, Nov 19, 2007.

1. GRAYMATER

GRAYMATER Member

hello to everyone, newbie here, hoping there are a couple technonerds that can help with a problem i'm having.

on a dvd movie i recently purchased i am getting a glitch in the same location on two different computers and one dvd player, but on my second player it plays right thru like it isn't there.

the scene where it glitches is an explosion with loud noise. the screen sort of freezes for a second and then plays on.

now i know that all equipment is not created equal but can someone tell me if there is a way to fix this, i.e. software or firmware upgrade or whatever.

also why, if the movie plays, doesn't it glitch on both players.

2. JVC

JVC Active member

It sounds like it's the layer change. Does it happen near the middle of the movie, or even a little past the middle?
    Some players handle the layer change better than others. Mine does like your's. Players with a bigger buffer size, may play right through the layer change, so that you never notice it.

This is normal, and nothing to worry about. It just takes a second to do this, right? It also happens with most dvds, right?

3. GRAYMATER

GRAYMATER Member

THANKS FOR YOUR INPUT JVC BUT THE PROBLEM HAPPENS JUST SHORT OF 3 MINUTES INTO MOVIE AND ALSO I CAN'T SEE THEM PUTTING A LAYER EXCHANGE AT A POINT OF SUCH HIGH ACTIVITY.

ALSO WANTED TO MAKE CLEAR THAT THE PLAYER THAT THIS PLAYS ON PROPERLY IS A STAND ALONE PANASONIC RECORDER/PLAYER.

IF THIS IS NOT SOME KIND OF UPGRADE TO FIRMWARE ISSUE I WOULD LIKE TO TRY AND FIND OUT, IF PURCHASING A NEW UNIT, WHAT I HAVE TO LOOK FOR IN A UNIT THAT I WON'T RUN INTO THE SAME PROBLEM.

4. JVC

JVC Active member