1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD not playing

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by ashta, Aug 8, 2004.

1. ashta

ashta Member

Hello Friends,

I am a newbie so the problem looks complecated for me... need your suggestions and help.

My system came with win 2000 pro, later having lot of problems formatted and loaded again the same OS, again facing problem formatted and loaded win 98 SE it was fine but DVD's were not playing and now due to my professional requirement again i formatted and loaded win xp and made a total of four partition in my hard disk.

Now except the film "Fiddler on the roof" an original DVD with a region code 1 other DVD's are not playing. Even the original DVD's. I have a cyberlink's Power DVD XP and playing with Sony DVD ROM / CD R/W

All CD's are playing well and can burn CD's properly.
    Except "Fiddler on the roof" if i insert any other DVD the system does not responds until i eject, if i eject system works without any problem.

My system is just 6 months old with following configuration.

P4, 2.4 Ghz,
    256 MB RAM,
    80 GB HDD (4 Partitions made)

Advanced thanks for any help
    <noEmail@here.com>

Last edited: Aug 8, 2004
  2. brobear

brobear Guest

First of all, why all those partitions on a small HDD? Don't think it has anything to do with the drive reading problem. If you ever decided to record DVD, you might run into a space problem. Hopefully with all these OS changes, your system is now using NTSF file system and not the old FAT32 from Windows 98.

You mentioned your system plays a region 1 disc. What region do you live in and are you trying to play discs other than Region 1? I ask because this is an international forum.

If you live in a region other than 1, you can change the drive's region setting in device manager. Software should always be used to view out of region DVDs and not changing hardware settings. (Just threw that in in case.)