1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD-R burn - File System Error 16389

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by souffle, Aug 30, 2010.

1. souffle

souffle Member

Hi all,

I am new to dvd burning and when I tried to transfer a video file onto a disc, I got the error message: File System Error 16389.

I don't think the problem lies with burning, as I already have Aimersoft Video converter and when I chose to burn direct onto the dvd, Aimersoft says there isn't enough disk space even though it does. so problem should lie with the dvd reader right?

I read on Roxio.com that I can uninstall my Matshita DVDram and reboot, but I am afraid if I do that, I can't reinstall my DVDram again and I have to purchase a new software.

Anyone there able to help? Hope my description is clear.

Thanks in advance. :)

2. attar

attar Senior member

More information required.
    Are you using a PC?
    Is it XP or Windows 7?
    Did you download the original video?
    What type - it an AVI file?
    Then you converted it with some other program to make it DVD movie format?
    What program did you use to try and burn it to a blank DVD?

3. souffle

souffle Member

I converted it using Aimersoft to Vob file. but I can convert to other formats if I choose.

Earlier on, I tried using Sonic MyDVD and it works, but Sonic only supports a handful of formats. I managed to burn it in WMV format. But the process is really slow and tedious as that means I need to convert my downloads from rmvb to wmv, then copy these files to Sonic for them to be burnt.

I was hoping I could select the output path as the DVD-RW drive, and save me an extra step, but Aimersoft gives a message that my new disc either has no free space, or I need to create folders on the disc first. But I am unable to do that.

any idea why? :(

thanks again.

4. attar

attar Senior member