1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD+R PROBLEMS

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by FUTRIACO, Jan 4, 2005.

1. FUTRIACO

FUTRIACO Member

I AM USING ANYDVD AND CLONEDVD2 AND IT TAKES A LONG TIME TO BACK UP A DVD. IT TAKES ABOUT 40 MINUTES TO TRANSCODE ADN THEN 40 MINUTES TO BURN. IS THIS NORMAL? DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW LONG IT TAKES FROM START TO FINISH USING DVDSHRINK AND NERO? I AM TALKING ABOUT NORMAL MOVIES (ONE HOUR AND A HALF TO 2 HOURS) ALSO IM HAVING PROBLEMS BURNING WITH MEMOREX DVD+Rs. IS IT THE MEMOREX DVD? WHAT DO YOU GUYS RECOMMEND FOR MEDIA. (AVAILABLE AT BEST BUY SO THAT I CAN BUY IT QUICKLY) ANYONE PLEASE HELP A NOVICE HERE.

2. colw

colw Active member

Hey FUTRIACO turn of your caps lock - it is considered shouting and rude.

To answer your questions:

Encoding time can vary depending on the type of movie and your system specs - 15 to 40 minutes for encoding is around ballpark figures.

Burning at 4X should take approx 14-15 minutes. Your burning time appears far too long.

You need to go to your Device Manager and ensure that DMA mode is enabled.

If you are operating in PIO mode - this will slow your encoding/burning times considerably.

Memorex media tends to be of very variable quality and is not recommended by the majority of experienced members of these forums.

Suggested quality media include: Ritek, Verbatim or TY's.

3. brobear

brobear Guest

Currently, +R in Fuji, TDK, Maxell, and Imation will net some decent media. I've gotten some of those from BestBuy. The same can't be said for the -R in some of the brands. System cleanup and maintenance (cleaning out adware, spyware and viruses) along with an occasional defrag can go a long way. Of course what colw said has a lot to do with system performance as well.

4. brobear

brobear Guest

Oh yes, [bold]turn off the caps.[/bold]

5. FUTRIACO

FUTRIACO Member

I did not know about the caps, sorry.