1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD-r questions

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by DogPyro, Dec 27, 2004.

1. DogPyro

DogPyro Member

1. What should I do with scratched dvd's?

2. Like PS2 backups do i need to burn my movies as slow as possible?

3. Is it always the standard to burn as slow as possible? Can I at least burn data on dvd's as quick as possible? I'm very new to dvd burning. But the trend from what I read is to burn as slow as you can...

2. john179

john179 Active member

DogPyro is all down to your own preference's but this is how i see it.

1.Scratched disk can be sent off for repair but it can be expensive.You try something like dvdxcopy recovery.How ever depends on how badly they are damaged.

2.I back up my ps2 games at x8 speed and never have a problem with them.

3.Dvd films are best burnt at x4 speed as there is less chance of the film freezing at lower speed.

4.Normal data disk's i tend to burn at all sorts of speeds.The more Data involved the slower i normally burn.

Some may have different opinions these are just what work for me.I hope this helps you a little on your learning.Most of what you ask will come with time and your own experiences.

3. DogPyro

DogPyro Member

Thank You for replying

Will scratched dvd's just be unable to be read? Are there
    any methods to make it more readable or settings I can add to software?

If dvd burns at higher speed are undependable in what situations do u use high burn speeds?

4. sghost

sghost Member