1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd rip to vcd

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by d8rr4n, Nov 9, 2003.

1. d8rr4n

d8rr4n Member

hello all im wondering if anyone can help me. I have a few files on my pc which are dvd rips. And they are now avi files' but when i try to convert them to mpeg for vcd playback it all goes wrong. The picture is sometimes up side down and the scenes jump about every 5 seconds to the next one with a still picture. What do i need to solve this problem ive tryed differnt encoders but none seem to work. Im sorry if this has been posted b4 but im really new to all this and any help would be much appreciated thanks alot!!!

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

Well We"ll need More info than That...Like What Encoders did you try and what was the Problem and what are the Specs of the File you are encodeing Meaning the Resolution, Frame Rate ,Codec, audio format and are you encodeing to NTSC or Pal??? There are Guides on this Forum and at www.dvdrhelp.com that will guide you through the Proscess....Cheers

3. d8rr4n

d8rr4n Member

the converters i used were 1 i bought from a comp fair the others were ezconverter'win mpeg video convert'fx video converter'super dvd creator' and thats just a few the list goes on and on lol.My problem is when its finished converting its nothink like the avi file i was converting in the first place the picture is sometimes upside down and very jumpy and freezes from time to time.Im not sure of the frame rate or the codec all i know is i installed nemo codecs pack on the pc and they play most of my movies lol.Audio format i havent a clue and i am encoding the file so its playback is pal.thanks for the info by the way ill check it out cheers!!

4. Minion

Minion Senior member