1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Shrink Problems

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by lennon112, Dec 31, 2004.

1. lennon112

lennon112 Member

Okay, I am relatively new at this so please bare with me. I am using DVD Shrink to burn back ups onto DVD-R's. Everything is fine except usually near the end of the film it starts skipping for no reason at all. Then right before the finale it usually corrects itself.

This has been the case with every dvd I have burned. It only does this on my DVD player but works perfectly with the dvd in my computer. Does anyone know what I should do to stop this? I dont have any labels on the cds so I know its not that, and I have watched burned films on these types of blank dvd's before so they work. Is there some other software that should be better?

2. bigorange

bigorange Active member

Nothing wrong with the software. It sounds like your media. I can't stress how important quality media is in DVD backup. I can't count the people whose problems I have solved just by changing their media.

It's not just a quality issue as was the mindset in CD burning, or VHS, etc. It is the fact of a burn actually playing or playing properly. Bad or inconsistent media causes jumping, skipping, freezing, and not playing at all.

I mention inconsistent because a lot of media will use different manufacturers and thus different batches will vary in quality even though you're buying the same brand. By using quality media you also eliminate media as a possibility when you do encounter a problem with burning DVD's.

Quality media doesn't mean expensive either. You can get Branded Riteks +R or -R for under .50 each w/free shipping. ALWAYS buy BRANDED media so you know what you are getting.