1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD shrink with DVD Decrypter

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by oasis13, May 1, 2005.

1. oasis13

oasis13 Member

I am new to backing up dvds and have backed up my first dvds successfully. I have just been using dvd decrypter because the dvds didnt need shrinking. I then burnt them using nero.

Lots of people talk about using decrypter and shrink, so i presume you decrypt it and copy it to the harddrive and the shrink it. However, cant you do that all in dvd shrink? Id like this clearing up, and help is appreciated. Also, does dvd shrink just lower the bitrate? When the bitrate is lowered, how does it reduce quality? Does it make it more pixelly, more blurred e.t.c.?

Thanks in advance

2. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

al very good questions! yes dvd shrink can rip and compress and reauthor and burn (useing wither nero engine or dvd decrypter engine - set this in settings)

but dvd shrink hasnt beed updated in months now and wont be! but dvd decrypter has updates regularly!

also in saying this you can get anyDVD to run in background to help aid dvd shrink in ripping new copy protections out now!

yes you have to shrink films if over 4.36gig and today most films are! like 5/6/7/8/9gig and yes you do loose quality! for 5/6 dvd shrink can use DEEP ANALYSIS and another setting like sharp or smooth in settings! but it will take alot longer to encode the movie with these settings!

so with 7/8/9 gig people are useing DVD-Rebuilder / CCE cinema craft encoder which takes long time aswell but the 9 gig films come out alot better!

all these methods are time consuming so its a toss up on which you prefer? fast and not so good quality? or long time like 3/4 hours for top quailty?

hope this has helped?

3. hursty

hursty Active member

get yourself a copy of clonedvd2 and anydvd,and you'll be laughing