1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD to DivX VFAPI Codec/VirtualDub Problems

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by DoomDrago, Aug 27, 2005.

1. DoomDrago

DoomDrago Member

Hi I'm completely new to this and was trying to start archiving my DVDs.

Anyway, I was following the guide on the site for 4:3 DivX conversion.

Ripping was fine.

Converting the audio was fine.

Even initially running the VFAPI Convertor went fine.

I booted up VirtualDub and it wouldn't accept the avi file created from the VFAPI Convertor. The guide says if it doesn't boot I didn't install the Codec correctly. Which looking back, I never ran the .bat file to install it. So, I did that.

Thats were the fun began. VirtualDub booted up with several errors before giving me the main screen (with nothing to work with).

I figured okay, I would have to convert the file again since the codecs weren't installed. I deleted the old .avi file from VFAPI and tried again. When I select the .d2v file the VFAPI spits out an error message reading ??? (file extension) ???

Any idea what I did wrong and more importantly how to fix it?

Thank you,
    ~Doom

2. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

Don't use VFAPI. That is what people used to use years ago. Use AVISynth instead.

3. DoomDrago

DoomDrago Member

I'm a little confused on what to do now.

I've got aviSynth installed but I'm not sure how it fills, or how to make it fill, the role that VFAPICovert had.

4. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

Well to do what VFAPI did:
    mpeg2source("movie.d2v")
    converttoRGB24()

AVISynth is much more powerfull though. You can resize, denoise, etc. and unlike VFAPI you don't have to convert to RGB24 and I wouldn't recommend doing so. So in terms of getting video into VDub it would just be:
    mpeg2source("movie.d2v")

5. lyberty

lyberty Member