1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD to HDD

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by abuamani, Aug 21, 2004.

1. abuamani

abuamani Member

Hello,
    Total newbie questions. I would like to save DVD's to my Hard drive for viewing. I checked the guides and only found how to's for saving to cd's or dvd's.
    What software is is good for this?
    Thanks

2. karen2003

karen2003 Regular member

If all you want to do is view them on your computer, you can just rip them with DVD Decrypter, which is free. Be warned, though, that DVDs take up a LOT of hard drive space, so be sure to delete the files after you've watched them.

3. abuamani

abuamani Member

Is there a way to compress the movie without decreasing the quality?

4. flip218

flip218 Moderator Staff Member

Use Shrink. You will can create a video_ts file that is around 4.35GB, then you can play it with PowerDVD, WinDVD or whatever program you have.

5. cityby

cityby Member

karen2003, when i tried to use decrypter and when i got to the point where you had to burn .DVD, this file does not exist in my harddrive, only .ISO and .MDS... any ideas? thanks

6. flip218

Decrypter only burns ISO's.

Open Decrypter -> click mode ISO WRITE W -> browse for the ISO -> click burn.

7. karen2003

karen2003 Regular member

Hi Abuamani. Please try to be more clear about what you want to do, otherwise the help you get won't be specific to your needs. In your first post you said you wanted to save the DVD to your hard drive for viewing; later you said you wanted to burn. There are different procedures depending on what you want to do.

As Flip218 pointed out, Decrypter only burns .iso files so if you really want to burn, not just watch on your computer screen, it's a good choice to use. But if the original DVD is > about 4.4gb or so, you'll need to compress it. Many of us use DVD Shrink for that, which is another free program.