1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVDA with videos

Discussion in 'High resolution audio' started by poetprose, Mar 12, 2005.

1. poetprose

poetprose Member

Hello all

I'm new to this DVDa and SACD format so please bare with me and my newbie questions

I have "Santna" Supernatural on DVDA and this audio also has 4 videos with it, so you can select the audio tracks or you can switch to video

what i was wondering was if you watch the 4 videos are you still getting the high resolution sound, ?

2. dchapman

dchapman Member

As far as I know, the Audio Zone (i.e. the AUDIO_TS directory) on a DVD-A can't contain video, so those videos must be located in the Video Zone (i.e. the VIDEO_TS directory) - so any DVD-Video ripper will extract the files for you.

You can then see what audio formats are used - it could theoretically be uncompressed LPCM up to 24-bit/96Khz, but is more likely to be 16-bit/48KHz or a lossy format.

3. sdifox

sdifox Regular member

The videos are DVD-V content so no hi-rez audio.

4. wilkes

wilkes Regular member

In theory, it is perfectly possible tto put up to 24/96 in stereo in the Video_TS. Trouble is, a lot of players will truncate to 16 bit and downsample to 48KHz though.

It is also in the specs for up to 8 channels of LPCM, to a maximum bitrate of 6.144 MB/sec in the Video_TS, but AFAIK this was never enabled in any players as the content creators whined about how much bitrate they would lose for the video section.

As a general rule, Video_TS content will be 16/48 LPCM, possibly 24/48 (see the new Bowie DVD-A titles) with either Dolby Digital and DTS content in multichannel.

5. jjolson

jjolson Member

It's also interesting to note that the mix of DVD-Audio and DVD-Video can be made in two ways: