1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVDFab Official/Beta release thread (post updates here)

Discussion in 'Copy DVD to DVDR' started by LOCOENG, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. dj928

    dj928 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My dvdfab doesn't work anymore (says "to open this dvd disc you need to buy or renew dvdfab "dvd to dvd" for all movies now). I've read that the free version expired? Any suggestions on alternatives? I still like to use DVD shrink. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  2. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Fab's ripper should not expire. If you have paid version, the renewal is pennies for a year.
     
  3. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Garmoon
    That is something new to me. When did this renewal come about? I looked and saw it is good for two years now. Does it effect people that purchase years ago too?
     
  4. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I think if you purchased years ago you should have been grandfathered in like I am with AnyDVD. I bought Fab after they changed policy (both with Fab an AnyDVD. So I have to update Fab yearly. I bought 2 years on my first need to pay up.I use it rarely and really don't know if you have to pay. I'd be pissed if I wasn't grandfathered in. That was the opinion I had at the time. I knew I would not be because I just procrastinated too long.
     
  5. dj928

    dj928 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
     
  6. dj928

    dj928 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm referring to the free version. Please let me know if I need to post in another area. I thought this was the right area. Thanks. :)
     
  7. dr_ml422

    dr_ml422 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think but not 100% that the Free Lunch Period might be over. I'm not sure. One of the more senior/informed members might be able to elaborate on this.

    If so it's not that much and does a fine job.
     
  8. malynch69

    malynch69 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I believe the free version is still available but it isn't updated as often. Basically it has lost it's support.
     
  9. dmerrick

    dmerrick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    They just put DVDFab7 out a week or 2 ago and it stills operates fine (at least it did yesterday.)
     
  10. dr_ml422

    dr_ml422 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Fengtao has been very good to us all. I think anyone who really likes and wishes to continue to use DVDFab can get it, and show support if they want to. It's a individual decision and a suggestion on my part.
     
  11. dj928

    dj928 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm looking for free versions and my version hasn't lost its support. It's apparently lost its updates. Any other free versions (regardless of manufacturer), I'm interested in. Thanks for any suggestions.
     
  12. enginman

    enginman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I get this same error message randomly when backing up new movies. Sometimes I can go back to v5 and do the backup but usually v5 just bombs out as well. Must be some new type of copy protection that it doesn't understand so it tells you to update your version.

    em
     
  13. dmerrick

    dmerrick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I get the impression that many people think DVDFAB free addition is not being updated. It is unless they stopped in the last 2 weeks after version 7 came out. I have not seen or heard that anyplace else.

    I used DVDFAb and AnyDVD and there is never a problem. Either one or the other gets it.
     
  14. dialysis1

    dialysis1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Try using it in conjunction with DvdFab passkey.
     
  15. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I don't use Fab that often, but I believe the free version is what you get after two week trial, all the other options just stop working. I'm not sure but under all the other things in the about section of help tab,all options are listed and the last is "HD Decyrpter" free edition never expires in Fab 7025.
     
  16. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Dear all,

    DVDFab 7.0.3.0 is out (March 26, 2010):

    http://www.dvdfab.com/download.htm

    What's New:

    DVDFab 7.0.3.0 Updated!

    * New: Language files.
    * New: Main window is resizable and more readable on large screen now.
    * New: Added "A/V Codec" page in Settings window, which allows user to set preferred decoder and encoder.
    * Fix: Lots of small issues from V6.

    DVDFab "DVD to DVD":

    * New: Added support for a new copy protection as found on "New Moon" (US).

    DVDFab "Blu-ray to Blu-ray":

    * New: Added support for all known BD+ protection.
    * New: Added chapter support, which means you can copy specific range of movie now.
    * New: Added our own CUDA H.264 encoder. Note: If the video card is really high end, we recommend to enable both CUDA decoder and encoder for max speed. If the video card is not, we suggest to use CUDA encoder for BD25 output, and use CUDA decoder for BD5 and BD9 output.
    * New: Added support for CoreAVC H.264 decoder to speed up copying.
    * New: Improved BD9/BD5 and standalone Blu-ray player compatibility.
    * Fix: A crash problem when opening certain Blu-ray discs, like "Precious".
    * Fix: Backup disc cannot be played on Samsung standalone player.

    DVDFab "Blu-ray to Mobile":

    * New: Added new "Blu-ray to Mobile" option.
    * New: Added HD file output for Xbox 360 and Playstantion 3.
    * New: Added support for MKV file output. When using WD TV Live as player, it's a perfect match for Blu-ray backup.
    * New: Added support for MKV chapter.
    * New: Added support for "Display only forced subpicture".
    * New: Added support for CoreAVC H.264 decoder to speed up conversion.

    DVDFab "File to Mobile":

    * New: Added support for CoreAVC H.264 decoder to speed up conversion.

    Best Regards,
    Fengtao
    __________
     
  17. rtm27

    rtm27 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Cheers Creaky. Thanks for the update.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  18. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Dear all,

    DVDFab 7.0.3.2 Beta is out (April 7, 2010):

    http://72.55.191.8/download/DVDFab7032Beta.exe

    Further info here ~ http://forum.dvdfab.com/showthread.php?t=4748


    Dear all,

    DVDFab 7.0.3.5 Beta is out (April 10, 2010):

    http://72.55.191.8/download/DVDFab7035Beta.exe

    Further info here ~ http://forum.dvdfab.com/showthread.php?t=4641


    Dear all,

    DVDFab 7.0.4.0 is out (April 15, 2010):

    http://www.dvdfab.com/download.htm

    What's New:

    DVDFab 7.0.4.0 Updated!

    * New: Updated language files.
    * Fix: Several small issues.

    DVDFab "DVD to DVD":

    * Fix: "Sherlock Holmes" cannot be compressed to DVD5.

    DVDFab "DVD to Mobile":

    * Fix: Failed to convert title to WMV for Xbox 360 in certain cases.

    DVDFab "Blu-ray to Blu-ray":

    * New: Added full support for AACS MKB v17 and the drives which were poisoned by MKB v17.
    * New: Improved copying performance.
    * New: Improved CUDA H.264 encoder performance.
    * New: CUDA decoder and encoder can be run on two separate cores on high end graphic card now, it will improve performance too when you enable both CUDA decoder and encoder.
    * New: Improved BD9/BD5 and standalone Blu-ray player compatibility.
    * Fix: A crash problem when using DXVA VC1 decoder.
    * Fix: A/V sync problem when using DXVA VC1 decoder.
    * Fix: BD+ problem for certain episodes discs.

    DVDFab "Blu-ray to Mobile":

    * Fix: A crash problem when using DXVA VC1 decoder.
    * Fix: A/V sync problem when using DXVA VC1 decoder.
    * Fix: Failed to convert title to WMV HD for Xbox 360 in certain cases.
    * Fix: idx/sub files were created when choosing render subpicture directly in certain cases.

    http://forum.dvdfab.com/showthread.php?t=4748
     
  19. dj928

    dj928 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is that a free version or just a trial version?

    Also, does anyone know how to make the source folder stay the same every time I open the program? I change the folder every time and when I reopen the program, it goes back to the source being the disc drive. I can't find a way to permanently change this. Thanks.
     
  20. malynch69

    malynch69 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Click on Settings (the green checkmark at the top right).
    Click on General
    Towards bottom there is an area for "Output Directory", change that to your desired location.
     

Share This Page