1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVDflick not encoding right?

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by lexapi, May 20, 2008.

  1. lexapi

    lexapi Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Version 1.2.2.1 build 442

    DVDflick goes through the entire process of building a DVD perfectly fine (tested on both my laptop and computer, Windows XP). However, except for the VERY first DVD I ever created, it will only create a partial movie!

    I am putting Korean drama episodes to DVD, and two can fit per DVD. However, what happens now is that I will get maybe all of episode one and only 30 minutes of episode two. Or, I will get 5 seconds of episode one and thirty minutes of episode two. Or half of one and half of two. Etc. I've done this four or five times now on my computer and twice on my laptop. I've gone through with antivirus/spyware/adware checks to clean out my computer. I've rebooted. I turned off screensaver and background items. Nothing is working to fix this...

    I've also tried only burning one episode. My result was a five second movie. Yes, really, a five second movie. All I can say is, WTF? Obviously this has nothing to do with space issues... this particular episode was only 54 minutes, too, though it was a hefty 1.5GB... though I'm pretty sure a 4.7GB DVD-R can handle that. =[

    What am I doing wrong?!

    *bashes head against computer*
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    So your saying that in both PC's the output folder files play back ok, but both machines produce bad dvd's.
     
  3. lexapi

    lexapi Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Actually, no.

    Opening the files directly from hard drive shows the exact same result as the burned DVD - basically, partial movies. The ISO file is the same too.

    BTW, the AVI files themselves work great and have no errors as far as I can see (Even WMP is happy to play them), and I've used several different video files to try this out.
     
  4. lexapi

    lexapi Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I suck and can't find an edit button?! Argh!

    What I meant by it going through the whole building a DVD process fine is that I get no errors throughout the entire process. It'll take 5 hours, but it'll go through it all fine. Then the end result is as I mentioned above-- truncated video, in either the VIDEO_TS folders, the iso file, or the DVD itself. I've also tried just making an ISO instead of burning to disc with no better results.
     
  5. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  6. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    this problem is very wierd not seen this one...

    shame you dont have convertxtodvd.

    do you have the xvid codec installed?
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2008
  7. MysticE

    MysticE Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    How are you checking for errors?
     
  8. lexapi

    lexapi Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I do have the xvid codec installed, and I have now tried the beta version of DVDflick with the same results.

    In regards to checking for errors - I played them all the way through on WMP without it crashing on me... since I wasn't sure how else to do it. Plus I've used like six different video files while testing out DVDflick, and there aren't any similarities in where it decides to cut off the rest of the video. Maybe it'll do it at 30 minutes one time or maybe 5 minutes the next time, etc etc. =/
     
  9. MysticE

    MysticE Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  10. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    give the trial version of convertxtodvd a shot, see if its pc related
     
  11. AXAD86

    AXAD86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Go out and buy a program like "NTI DVD MAKER 7" It does all the things that DVD Flick Does! but better and faster! Its the fastest encoder i have come across! but for some reason mine isn't working at the moment! so i could only help by on how to use it by memory!
     
  12. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hehe kool...

    fastest isnt always better, due to quailty output of video.
     
  13. MysticE

    MysticE Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    LOL
     
  14. AXAD86

    AXAD86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm sorry! It was actually called Cyberlink Power Producer! I have searched the net for a freeware version for my other computer but i was unable to! Also the Encoding is the same as the original video! I think that is because it writes to a DVD Disc as data but has the menu just as a plus! and thats why it is so fast at burning any video file! and i mean any! Whilst searching i came across "ABC DVD Copy Lite" its a freeware that i have not tried yet! looking at it makes it seem a easy to use DVD Copier.
     
  15. MysticE

    MysticE Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I think you should spend some time reading, the posts and guides. You might also peruse the Glossary.
     
  16. AXAD86

    AXAD86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My Bad!
     
  17. anacondon

    anacondon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sadly, I can't help the individual who initiated this thread but am further adding my own eerily-similar grief. Trying to peg down chronologically WHEN this sudden inability to encode properly occurred but can't for the life of me deduce same as there was no change to program (update, etc) that I can recall. A few months back was able make one BIG iso file of all 3 seasons of Deadwood. This was 36 episodes in total, 6 episodes of approx. 700MB each (avi format) on each disc. Would then subsequently use DvdShrink quite nicely to compress the resultant iso file to the 4.7GB parameter without a hitch. Now suddenly absolutely cannot repeat this process (currently trying to get 'sopranos' within the same parameters, i.e., 6 shows/disc, shrink dvdflick-output iso file w/DVDshrink, etc). Yes, have uninstalled/reinstalled & even 'upgraded' to the new 1.3.0.0 dvdflick - same results (wish i could remember the error/dialog I keep getting - something like 'ignoring file breaks will damage resulting file'). Basically, the first episode is fine (approx 1 hr each)....then all remaining 5 episodes are truncated, usually to 37-38 minutes.
     
  18. MysticE

    MysticE Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well you should start you own thread. A few thoughts though.
    Many times general changes to your computer, not just the app, can 'break' things. It could be a Windows update, the installation of other programs and their codecs, the use of registry cleaners... it goes on and on. The first thing to try would be to try to encode the truncated files by themselves and see if it happens again. You could also run them through GSpot, comparing them to those that worked, and look for clues. You could run them through AviDemux and let it fix/adjust them.
     
  19. anacondon

    anacondon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes - i was hesitant to add this to an already-existing thread...sorry about not following proper protocol there. Excellent advice & perfectly-understandable rationale re: any global-or-otherwise changes to the HD. Now starts the fun process of deductive elimination!!! Thanks for the tip(s).
     
  20. mpenney

    mpenney Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My Advise.....

    Stay away from DVD Flick

    MPenney
     

Share This Page