1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

easiest way to install Xfce?

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by motautis, Jan 10, 2007.

1. motautis

motautis Member

Hello, i got a old 400 mhz computer that i want to install some form of linux on. I really wanna try out xfce but am willing to try out other stuff.

Im a complete noob regarding linux also.

2. janrocks

janrocks Guest

xcfe isn't an operating system, it's a lean desktop environment. It comes with the very small live distros, you can install it on the big heavy ones too, but theres not much point.
    I also run a few 400MHz machines and find that the small debian based ones like damn small work a real treat. The only problem is the packages which are compatable with dsl are all old-stable, which means it's probably running on the 2.2 kernal (maybe 2.4, but still old) While this isn't a disadvantage if you don't stray from the path, it's certainly annoying if you want to do any serious work, or add modern, up to date apps.
    I have had great success with puppylinux on machines with performance as low as a pentium 60 with only 32MB of ram, so on a 400 it will really fly.
    If you add aptitude from the pup's (puppy installer packages) and edit your sources.list file to reflect the fact it's a brand new distro on a 2.6 kernal it should seriously impress you.
    I run it lots, and the help channel is full of very helpful, nice people..

Download it here (it's tiny..84Mb) http://www.puppylinux.org/user/downloads.php?cat_id=1
    Get the new seamonkey version (late november I think) the full one..burn it, boot it up and go for it.. It's probably the most user friendly linux around.

It may seem like I bang on about this one a bit..but that's just because I'm so impressed with how far this project has come in the last 12 months.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 10, 2007
  3. motautis

motautis Member