1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Exactly what do Mods do?

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by Mushnick, Apr 9, 2005.

1. Mushnick

Mushnick Member

Sorry to be a complete newb, but a friend of mine got his Xbox moded by some company and he seems pretty happy with it. He says that he can play all the old snes games and stuff on it to, but that his xbox live doesn't work anymore. So, can you tell me what's going on and what mods do?

Oh, also, I've been reading some your posts and was wondering, what's the difference between the Xacuter3 chip and the Xenium Ice Solderless chip? The solderless looks like the same price and says it has a switch, but I really have no clue.

And do mod chips come with the BIOS and dashboard? I read a thing that talked about them but I don't know how to get them or if I don't need to worry about it.

One last thing. A thing I read says that an xbox only takes DVD-R. My computer only has a DVD+R, but I've been burning a few movie backups onto DVD+R's and they work fine in my xbox. What's that mean?

.. Sorry I keep adding to this. But is there a way to back-up my old PSone games and play them on the xbox?

Last edited: Apr 9, 2005
  2. mesman21

mesman21 Member

Mods basicly change the operating system on ur Xbox (bios). They alow u to take basicly all the restrictions off the xbox and make it more like a regular pc.

Xecuter3 and Ice are similar, basicly the Xecuter3 is a bit nicer, but they both do the trick, and i highly recommend the ice, specially if u have v1.6 u can get the new version of it.

You need to download a new Bios and dashbard if u dont want to u se original, you could easily ftp them from ur friends xbox.

Xbox's play CD RW just as well as a DVD-R

I have no idea about old PSone games, but why on earth would u do that

3. pacman33

pacman33 Guest

yes there is a way to play psone games on the xbox but not pstwo yet.