1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Extracting files larger than 4 GB

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by newmanm, Dec 25, 2004.

1. newmanm

newmanm Member

Hi,

Total newbie here. I have a movie on my computer in .rar format. When I try to extract the files with WinRar I get a message that files over 4 GB cannot be extracted. Is there any way to either extract the files or get the movie onto a Dvd-r so I can watch it? My OS is Windows 98 SE.

Thanks,

Newmanm

2. scf_au

scf_au Regular member

If you're using FAT32, files over 4 GB would pose a problem. The simplest way is to do it with a PC using NTFS, if you have access to one.

3. newmanm

newmanm Member

That's what I'm gathering. I guess the only people who can extract large files have to have Windows 2000 or XP and their drive formatted using NTFS. Kind of diminishes the usefulness of a DVD burner for a lot of people unless they just want to use it to back up files.

Thanks,

Newmanm

4. hursty

hursty Active member

is this a file you have downloaded?

5. newmanm

newmanm Member

Yes it's a file I downloaded.

Thanks,

Newmanm

6. hursty

hursty Active member

have you tried splitting the files? i dont download myself,but i have FAT32,and did intially have problems with anything over 4GB,but i use dvd decrypter,which splits the files,enabling me to create files over 4GB.

7. newmanm

newmanm Member

I just downloaded DVD Decrypter but cannot figure out how to split the file with it. What I have is 93 .rar files of about 48 MB each. I don't know how to get to the entire file to split it. I cannot extract it because it's over 4 GB. I can see how DVD Decrypter can split an ISO file, but right now all I have are the .rar files with no way to get at the disc image.

Thanks,

Newmanm

8. scf_au

scf_au Regular member

I don't know whether this would work for you, but I've done some experimenting: