1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Film vs. Digital

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by Oopsla, Oct 16, 2003.

1. Oopsla

Oopsla Guest

I have a friend who is stubbornly against going digital. Before he blows 8,000 on a old motion camera can I get some advice. Anylinks or comments that he can use to weigh which is better. I know that digital photography as surpassed conventional photography but I don't have the same knowledge of motion/film. I believe in digital if anybody as comments pro or con I'd like to hear them.

2. Oriphus

Oriphus Senior member

I know a hell of a lot about both. Im a photographer myself.

Right, when it comes down to it, you have 3 main choices: (we'll leave out medium/large format)

1). 35mm Film (Negative/Transparencies)
    2). APS Film
    3). Digital Chip (CMOS/CCD)

1). 35mm Film, in equivalent digital expressions, is somewhere around 16Mega Pixels in quality terms in relation to its digital counter part. It has a high sensitivity to minor changes in light (shutter speed and/or aperture) and produces great quality (depending of course on the grain (ISO 50,100,etc)

2). We'll rule this one out because it is crap. Quality is nearly a 1/3 less than 35mm due to its size.

3). Digital CMOS/CCD chips. There was a study done by Canon comparing an EOS30 with Fujfilm Velvia 50 (my exact set-up) and a Canon EOS10D. the EOS10D has something like a 11MP CCD chip in it. Both camera's used the a Canon EF 24-70mm L F2.8 and a Canon EF 70-200mm L IS f2.8. Again my set-up :-D What they discovered was that for high speed images, over ISO800 equivlent in film, the Digital quality was coming out on top. The digital camera's sensor was also producing better skin tones, though this was to be expected since they were using slide film, but the 35mm could be blowin up to a larger size without degradation in the image quality.