1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Final parts. Need your opinions.

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by veezee, Feb 24, 2008.

1. veezee

veezee Guest

Im a newbie when it comes to building a pc. But i have been researching alot. I dont play FPS games on the pc. Mainly RTS games. I already have a WD 320 GB hdd, dvd burner, monitor, keyboard and mouse.
    This is what i have picked out so far(just need a case). Tell me what you think.

cpu - intel allendale E2160 1.8ghz $74- I have read that it is highly reccomended to overclock
    mobo - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L $90
    Memory - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
    vid card - SAPPHIRE 100206L Radeon HD 2600PRO 256MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 CrossFire Supported $60
    - can i get away with using a cheaper graphics card since i dont play FPS
    PSU - Corsair VX 550W Power Supply $80

I am going to be ordering the parts soon. I just wanted to get some opinions before i did.

2. tripplite

tripplite Guest

not worth it get a cpu with at least 3.0 ghz, you wont be able to play any recant game with 1.8ghz (gears of war requires at least 2.4 ghz to run) at the same price you can get a Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 2mb cache (i know its not dual core but you wont feel that much of a performance difference)
    what is your socket type? i'll take a guess 775?

thats good, 2gigs is a nice set

-tripplite

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 24, 2008
  3. veezee

veezee Guest

I have a 360 for Gears of War and all other FPS. I only use the PC for RTS games.

4. dazila

dazila Regular member

A pentium 4 is nothing compared to a Pentium Dual Core its garbage actually when compared to a E2xxx series cpu no matter the ghz 1.6ghz of core 2 is better then 3.4ghz of netburst :).

5. Zukhaib

Zukhaib Regular member