1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

'First time build' - Low Budget system for 3ds max & Autocad

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Wpsp, Aug 18, 2008.

1. Wpsp

Wpsp Regular member

I'm thinking about building a desktop computer that will be optimized for use with 3ds max and autocad. I am on a very low budget so let me no if i'm wasting my time. I don't want to spend any more than £400 on components but i will buy moniter, keyboard, mouse, speakers etc out of another budget. I have never built a pc before so wouldn't no where to start. (If there is a general tutorial of pc building floating around I will be gratefull for the link.) I don't know any technical info about what i may be buying so bare with me as i will have to take the experts word for it, which is why i'm on here...

Obviously within my budget i will need the usual:

Case,
    Motherboard,
    CPU,
    Graphics card,
    RAM,
    DVD writer,
    Power Supply,
    Fans,
    HDD,
    anything else vital etc.....

I will be running either xp 64-bit or vista 64-bit so that i can use 3dsmax and autocad with more than 4GB of ram. (hoping to run 8GB or whatever you reccommend as i know ram doesn't have to be expensive.)

My main aim for this build is to have a pc with fast 3d rendering power as the one i use at work isn't fast enough for what i want to acheive in the future. (although this pc is going to be for personal use)

- heres a thread i posted a while back about the pc at work so you know what i consider "SLOW" : http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/679155