1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question Fit to disc bitrates

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by Batchainpllr, Mar 14, 2023.

  1. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I exported the project and created a BDMV.
    I have just 2 more questions.
    The first:
    When I pull this BDMV into Nero Rom, will there be additional room needed for scratch discs that will increase the file size ?
     
  2. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Save the project as a BDMV. Then you can burn it as a BDMV-Video in one of the two apps. I think that saving as an Image only lets you burn as a data disc which is not automatically playable in most player.
     
  3. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks.
    Any idea about the scratch disc question?
    Sorry, still learning here.
     
  4. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    128
    The question I would ask is, do you want to burn it as a BD compliant disc that can play in standalone players, or do you want to burn it for long-term storage?If you have no intentions of playing it as a Blu-Ray disc, then your best bet is to leave it as it is and burn it as a data disc ideally along with several other similar files. A well cared for BD disc can last for decades which makes it a decent long-term option. The caveat there of course is time along with changes in technology, because no format lasts forever. I have numerous family videos transferred to M-Disc which is essentially a longer lasting BD Disc. It's not lost to me that one day they may no longer be playable if there are no longer a means to play them. I've tried to prepare for that eventuality, by holding onto a couple of spare BD drives, but in time even stored drives can fail.
     
  5. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    28
    If you want a standard Blu-ray video disc that plays automatically, you would use Blu-ray-video. It won't let you add other files to the compilation other than another BDMV. You wouldn't be able to do that since the single burned project occupies the entire disc. Of course, if you want a Blu-ray video disc, you could just burn directly from Nero Video.

    Sophocles pretty much covered your question unless you mean something different by "scratch."
     
  6. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I want to burn a true Bluray disc with menus and features that will play well in any Bluray player as well as a PlayStation.
    And hopefully looks good.
    Of course the original footage is from a Very low end and old camera with a very small lense and no stabilization.
    It's been a process, close to 500 hr.s to make (fix) a 2 hr. movie plus almost an hour of features including 2 clips in 3D.
     
  7. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I feel your pain. Many of my most cherished videos were done on 8mm tape. I spent a good year looking for software that can denoise video with limited success. In the end unless you can send your video to lab with excellent video correcting AI, you're just going to have to learn to live with it. You can add a collection of MP4 videos and convert them to a single BD with menus.
     
  8. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I assume you created a menu for your project. If so, just burn the blu-ray disc from Nero Video to get what you want. Can't imagine spending 500 hrs to fix a movie. The jitters could possibly be removed by recoding it using Nero Recode. The 3D clips are probably what's causing the project to be so large.

    Would you have a problem providing us with a copy of your original video? I normally use them to help with correcting problems but then discard them.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2023
  9. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Jitters?
    I am referring to camera movement and shake reduction.
    Recode can fix that?
    Also Many sound pops as my fingers constantly hit the mic.
    The sound took the longest, I did the shake reduction and raw edit in one month.
    I can provide an original clip but how?
     
  10. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I can understand the time to fix the pops from constantly hitting the mic. Must have been torture.
    Did you use one of the Video Stabilizer effects to fix the shaking? When I think about it, Recode wouldn't fix that. If you have stuttering, it would be something to try.

    You can upload a file to something like wetransfer, dropbox, one drive, etc. Then, share it with everybody and get a link. Post the link here.
     
  11. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Yes I applied shake reduction to all 1100 clips each individually adjusting the parameters for each.
    For the sound I cut out the pops and replaced those frames with audio from elsewhere in the clip. This caused a small "pop" which I was able to get rid of by then applying an audio merge at each of these replacement frames. there was on average 7 to do on each clip !
    I also did many bonus features and designed all the artwork over the course of the 500 hours.
    I will try to get a clip up soon.
     
  12. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok
    I've been doing exports at different bitrates and when the next one finishes tomorrow I will post the results.
    Still haven't gotten a clip uploaded.
    Right now I am exporting from Nero Video to a BDMV folder.
    In my assets I have the movie and bonus features which are targeted in the menu.
    I notice that the actual movie is at the bottom of the list of assets and that you can move it to the top of the list, however when I do this I lose all the advanced menus I made.
    Is it ok to leave it at the bottom of the list ?
     
  13. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    28
    What do you mean by "assets?" Where are you in the software when looking at the list?
    As far as I know you can only have one menu unless you're talking about things like chapters or titles.
     
  14. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When I load the project in Nero Video, at 1st it shows a timeline and a contents menu. That menu shows every video file I added to this project.
    The Mp4 for the actual movie is at the bottom of the list.
    Each item is targeted to a button in the Menu section.
     
  15. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Would you make a screenshot and attach it here?
     
  16. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I can't atm because I am currently exporting.
    I believe the list I am talking about is called My Media.
    You see it to the upper right of the screen when you 1st open the project.
    It contains the Mp4 files I brought in for the movie and for each clip I added for bonus features.
    The Mp4 for the movie is the only one I added a timeline to and is at the bottom of the list.
    I then hit Next and see my menus.
    In the Main Menu I have a button I call Play movie which is targeted to the movie.
    In the scenes menu, each button targets a different chapter on the timeline.
    I also created a Bonus menu where each button targets a different clip from the My Media list.
    I am wondering if it matters that the largest file, the actual movie is at the bottom of the My Media list?
     
  17. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Are you exporting or burning to your hard drive?

    When you select Create Disc, Blu-ray, you end up in the Content screen. The list is called the Project Content. The only thing in that list is Titles and Chapters, if you added chapters.

    If you select Make Advanced Movie, you end up in the Editing screen. When you import files, they are displayed in the My Media list. Moving files around on the My Media list has no effect on menus or anything else for that matter.

    It would still be beneficial if you would provide a screenshot of what you're seeing.

    The Timeline is only in Make Advanced Movie, Make Express Movie or Make Slide Show. Not sure what you mean by "added a timeline."

    I don't know why you would need the bonus menu. If you add your movie and then additional clips to the Timeline, and don't join them, then there should automatically be a button for the movie and another for each of the clips in the main menu.
     
  18. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am using advanced.
    I took out all the pregenerated menus and made my own using the Duplicate feature.
    I did this because I made many changes to the timeline menus and didn't want to do it all 3 times as I have 15 chapters on 3 scene menu pages
    Anyway
    Still 19 hours to go for BDMV export
    Im posting a pic. I took of the current export.
    I can post screen shots tomorrow AM after it finishes.
    Although I feel you answered my Question.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here is the screenshot I promised showing the list of contents in My Media. As you can see the Mp4 of the actual movie is near the end of the list (indicated by the cursor). I understand that it`s position is not really relevant.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Batchainpllr

    Batchainpllr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I tried several exports of this project.
    As you can see from the previous screenshot, it was showing well over 50 G in size.
    At 1st I tried the export using the higher bitrate movie Mp4 (36 kbps, file size 30.6 GB) in the project and the BDMV actually came out at 48 G with the setting Match Quality.
    I then substituted the movie Mp4 in the project with a different version at a lower bitrate (28 kbps, file size 24.1 GB) and exported it again.
    Once again it came out at 48G.
    Why would this be ?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 21, 2023

Share This Page