1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting a burner

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by aznbound, Sep 11, 2004.

1. aznbound

aznbound Regular member

Sorry but Im not good at all this burner things but I was thinking of getting a burner. I know external burners cost more so i was just thinking of getting an internal one. My question is, how hard is it to install an internal one if youre new to this, like me? They say u open up the pc and put it in an empty socket. I only have a cd-writer and a dvd-rom drive so where do i put in empty dvd's after installing? do i just put it in the cd-writer drive?

2. StanH1000

StanH1000 Regular member

You really don't need three optical drives and external burners cost more, anyway. If you can figure out how to remove the CD burner, putting in the DVD burner is a snap. 15 min project.
    Just make sure jumper setting on back of the DVD burner drive is set the same as the CD burner and connect the other cables that you unplug. Can even reuse the hold down screws. Would leave the present DVD reader alone, just swap out the burners and keep the same jumper setting.

3. aznbound

aznbound Regular member

So do i have to open up my pc and check what the jumper thing of my cdburner is before i get an internal dvd burner, or is it all the same? And are there any big risks when switching the 2 burners cause I dont want to accidentaly do something to mess up my pc.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]What I have shown you is reality. What you remember, that is the illusion. - Sephiroth[/small]

Last edited: Sep 11, 2004
  4. StanH1000

StanH1000 Regular member

Go ahead and buy the burner. All have same choices for jumper setting - six pins - all you hace to do is connect two of them with suppled connector. Choices are Master, Slave, or Cable Select. Just use the same setting as on the CD burner you are removing.