1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going to University wondering if a Mac is worth the money

Discussion in 'Mac - General discussion' started by Rhamhoy, Sep 8, 2008.

1. Rhamhoy

Rhamhoy Member

I'm starting University this month, my course is based around multimedia. It involves web design, graphics design, flash animation etc. I've heard that Macs are the way to go and that professionals in these fields are known to use Macs.

It's just i've been using PC's for so long now that i'm very comfortable with them, I have very little experience with Macs. I'm just wondering would it really be worth the money? I know i'll need a laptop and the cheapest Mac I found was the Apple MacBook Core 2 Duo 1GB 120GB Combo which was around £655. My past experiences with laptops have been quite unpleasant (I generally don't touch them) however as i've stated i've never had a macbook.

2. nownthen

nownthen Regular member

I don't know much about the software on the mac but one thing I have been told about the mac books is they have a longer battery life than your average laptop. Not to say that you can't get a longer lasting battery but you either have to buy a really expensive one or buy another battery that is larger and doesn't fit into the battery compartment like the smaller shorter lasting battery did.

3. susieqbbb

susieqbbb Guest

Macbooks are better and even better if you dont want to use mac os x just go to windows by using boot camp you will still have a windows laptop and a mac for one price.

4. refreak

refreak Member

Hi...I switched back to mac back in '98...haven't regretted it since.