1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going to Upgrade PC for Crysis, some questions :)

Discussion in 'Windows - Games' started by acidy, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. acidy

    acidy Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I've gone through alot of research and got many mixed answers which has made me confused >_<

    I'm planning to buy a PC with the foll. config :-
    -Core 2 Duo E6420 @ 2.13 GHz (Gonna overclock to 3.2 though :p)
    -Intel 975X motherboard (PCI)
    -Nvidia 7600 GT PCI-e 256mb VRAM
    -2GB DDR2 Kingston SDRAM
    -Sound Blaster Audigy
    -250 GB SATA HDD (7200 RPM)
    *It's kinda mid-ranged PC as I'm on a tight budget*

    Well, will Crysis work on all settings put to high with no AA and no AF and "800x600" OR "1024x768" resolution on these specs ??? :)

    Also, the same question with Call Of Duty 2, 3 & 4 :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
  2. Shokz

    Shokz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The only thing i put into question would be the 7600GT, it's an old card and not likely to even get you playable framerates at Medium, so i'd suggest an 8600GT/S or something along those lines, as that should run Crysis fine on High at lower resolutions.

    As for Call of Duty 2, the 7600GT would probably cut it, it's an old game, so i'm guessing you'd be able to max it out. There is no Call of Duty 3 for PC, but it's not a great game anyway, i had it on PS3 and it's not as good as 1 2 or 4. Call of Duty 4 probably wouldn't run too well with the 7600GT, if you got an 8600GT/S then i'm guessing you'd probably be able to max out most settings and at a fairly good resolution, my horrible 8400GS can even cope fairly well with Call of Duty 4 maxed if i lower the resolution.
     
  3. acidy

    acidy Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    lolz :p

    How much does the 8600 GT/S cost ??? :)
    I'm looking for a card that doesn't exceed $100 :)
    And eBay has so many various rates >_<
     
  4. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i know the evga 8600GT 256 runs about $110, but 256 won't cut it for crysis and cod4

    you'll need something along the 8600GTS 512 or the 9600GT 512 or the ATi HD3850. those cards run in the $150-200 range.

    ebay should be last resort for parts. go to a reputable online shop, like newegg, for parts.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
  5. acidy

    acidy Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I know about newegg but I live outside Europe and newegg doesn't ship outside Europe right ??? :(
    Oh well, at least I can find out the rates ^_^

    Hey look at THIS Geforce 8600 GT 512mb DD2 VRAM for juz $90 :D
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
  6. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    the thing with the 8600GT 512 is that they use GDDR2, but the 256 uses GDDR3. the 8600GTS uses GDDR3 with either the 256 or 512.

    if you're in europe, look at SCAN and ARIA. one of the aD addicts recommends those sites.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
  7. DDRgod922

    DDRgod922 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    go with Radeon HD 3870 512mb GDDR4 memory i can get crysis on high settings no AA 1024x768 with about 45 FPS

    my specs

    AMD Athlon 64 x2 6400+ Black Edition 3.2GHz
    2GB Corsair DDR2 800 RAM
    HIS Radeon HD 3870 (getting another one soon)
    500GB SATA 3GB/S 7200 RPM
    650W Corsair PSU

    heres the card at newegg

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161218

    u missed the sale, used to be 170 but went back up to 190
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2008
  8. Shokz

    Shokz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Why did you go and start talking about that card... $190... He wants one around the $100 mark.

    If that's on the table then you may as well go for an 8800GT 512MB :p Beats the HD 3870 in nearly every game (Crysis and CoD 4 being two good examples) and isn't that much more expensive.

    Go with a 8600GTS and you should be fine to run Crysis at mostly High settings at the resolutions you're thinking of running it at, just don't try and run it in DX10 mode.
     
  9. byngo

    byngo Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    acidy,
    If it helps you decide, I tried the Crysis demo on the "auto-config" settings on my 8600GT 256Mb DDR3 card with the E8400 3.0 Ghz (no O/Ck)CPU and 2 gig of OCZ RAM.
    The auto settings gave me 1024 x 768 Res and "Medium" settings.
    The FPS was about 35-40 and seemed very playable with no stuttering etc. If i turned the Res down to 800 x 600 I got about 65-70 FPS.
    My intention is to go for a 8800GT or GTS 512mb (or 1 gig maybe) sometime soon to get to "High" settings at 1024 X 768.
     
  10. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you're forgetting one thing, shokz. nVidia cards have tweaked drivers for those games (especially crysis), which results in the better performance over ATi. you get more framerates for compromising picture quality. if you change the .exe file to a different name, you'll see that there will be a hit in performance, and that ATi and nVidia cards will be equal.

    any game that has the "best played with nVidia" logo means the games have tweaked drivers and settings for max performance, but they don't tell you that you lose picture quality in order to get performance.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2008
  11. DDRgod922

    DDRgod922 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well if he has vista he def doesnt want to go with nvidia, nvidia is the HIGHEST percentage of problems on vista lol it was like 25% of all the other problems out there

    http://blogs.zdnet.com/microsoft/?p=405

     
  12. Shokz

    Shokz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Wouldn't touch Vista with a barge pole, it came pre-installed on our new computer. It ran fine, smooth as anything, but the performance in games is a noticable bit lower than with XP. I downgraded it around 2 weeks ago to XP Pro and noticed the difference in games straight away, at least a 5fps difference in nearly all the games i've played so far.
     
  13. acidy

    acidy Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I'm going with the 8600 GT/GTS with 512mb VRAM :)
    It costs around 100$ and THIS software has really help me to choose my decision :)
    Thanx guys for your feedback and especially Shokz for your recommendation :)

    EDIT : Be sure to see the screenshots somewhere below that page :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2008
  14. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ran Cryisis reasonable well on a 7600 512MB card, I have a 8800 610MB monster on my main rig :X
     

Share This Page