1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Got the I/O Error blues ..plz help

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by bigtaco, Oct 18, 2004.

1. bigtaco

bigtaco Member

I just purchased a new DVD burner and am in the process of learning the ropes. I am totally new to all this so please bear with me. I am using DVD Shrink in in conjunction with DVD Decrypter to try and burn my first DVD. I am referencing ScubaPete's excellent guide for using Shrink and Decrypter. Everything goes fine until Decrypter starts laying the lazer to the disk. It gets to about 48% then I get the same I/O error. Here is is...

I/O Error

Device :[0:0:0] ATAPI DVD DD 2X16X4X16 G7C9 (H:) (USB)

ScsiStatus: 0x02
    Interpretation: Check Condition

CDB: 2A 00.........ect ect
    Interpretation: Write (10) - Sectors: 958016-958047

Sense Area: 71 00 00 00 ........ect ect
    Interpretation: Invalid Address for write

I have browsed the site and found my problem is most likely the media I was using. So I then upgraded to SONY DVD-R disks. Still the same problem. Does anyone have any idea what the problem might be? Any help is greatly appreciated :)

2. bigwop

bigwop Regular member

Do you have Roxio Easy cd creator installed. If so completely uninstall the program. I had version 6 basic,it came with my burner,and when I updated to dvd decrypter v3.5 I got all kinds of I/O errors 98% of the time. I also use tweak now registry cleaner to completely remove all leftover roxio remenents from my registry and I haven't had a problem since. Any packet writing software,in roxio its called drag to disk, is always accessing your burner so if you don't have roxio and have other packet software remove it. I believe in nero its called IN CD. A good quality disk is maxell dvd-r 2x-4x yellowish/gold tops. I haven't had a problem with these yet.When I need to use roxio I just reinstall it.When I burn dvd's I go through the uninstall process.

3. colw