1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GPU/Build Advice! (4870vs4890)

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by xChronox, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    New revision.
     
  2. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Will the Audigy SE still work on Win7?
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I think it should as, the Vista beta drivers are listed on its support page.
     
  4. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh crap I forgot something.

    With 2 DVD Drives,

    2 HDDs

    hd3850

    will it all work nice on a 450w Corsair VX
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Easily.
     
  6. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Good choices.
     
  8. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks :).

    Fingers crossed this should all work, and the drivers too.

    Fingers crossed that citylink don't get to the door you have to buzz to get in and think "oh my god the door, it wont open!" and drive back to the warehouse 3 times in a row like last time.

    :)
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I wouldn't count on it. Ninja-carding is why I try not to use companies that use citylink unless it's necessary when I'm at home. It's fine when I'm at uni because all you do is walk inside (automatic doors, yeah!) and there's usually always a guy there.
     
  10. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well I'll just have to ring them and tell them like last time.

    I just found out I can't play stalker clear sky because the sound error comes up.

    Nooooooooooooooooooooooo QQ
     
  11. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ah, the payment has been taken and shipping is due for 05/05/2009.

    I must say the performance of Windows 7 (so far) has been excellent. I can't really tell the difference between XP and 7 except the visual changes.

    One thing I'm worried about is it eating up half of my memory.

    A game like Company of Heroes is Memory intensive is it not? I remember checking task manager and seeing it take up 800mb!

    I kind of feel it necessary to buy those 2x2GB OCZ Reaper Memory Sticks for £50 now..
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    800MB? bah, I've had more than 3 gig out of GTA4, I wouldn't worry about it :p
     
  13. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    haha, I guess I'll just have to see how everything runs with 2Gig first...

    I'm not sure if it's because of having no sound but I can't even launch any games.

    Half life 2 doesn't launch.
    Company of hereos doesn't launch.
    COD4 doesn't launch.
    Stalker doesn't launch.

    Hmmm

    Also in Device Manager I'm only getting "High Definition Audio Device" Under "Sound, video and game controllers"
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No sound card.
     
  15. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lmao yeah obviously but I would've thought games should at least START...

    Guess not xP.
     
  16. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No, most won't due to DirectX reasons. Hence, DirectX compatible sound card is usually listed under minimum requirements on the box of most games.
     
  17. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hmm, heh. Learn something new every day...Or maybe I'm just a retard.

    F.E.A.R actually launched though, but the part at the beginning where you get out of the car, it glitches and I end up behind the car unable to progress.
     
  18. Shamb1es

    Shamb1es Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I couldn't recommend 4GB of memory more. It's easily the cheapest upgrade you can make on your computer that can make a huge difference. Although now that you've upgraded your GPU/PSU you'll also want a larger monitor to really get the most of your card, and then that leads to another upgrade etc, etc until you turn around and finally realize you've spend 3X as much as you originally wanted. :p
     
  19. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Actually I don't really think I want a bigger monitor. 19" is enough for me and tbh it's the perfect size for me. I've seen 21" and so on and I haven't liked them.

    but it would be nice to see a HD Wallpaper on a big screen.

    edit -

    I haven't actually upgraded my system yet :p. I just ordered a Sound card and a DVD Drive.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2009
  20. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Finally got the Sound Card / Verbatim 25 Pack DVDs / 22x LG GH22NS40 DVD Drive today, after Citylink providing a poor service and marking the delivery as "Carded", when I was in the whole day next to the intercom system.

    Ah well, it only came a day later, Installed it with no problems, it all works like a dream. The drive works fine at 22x Speed and the sound card Has amazingly better sound.

    I haven't actually tried burning with the LG yet though. The Verbatim discs look nice too :p.

    And the sATA cable is good too.

    A quick question, I have 4 sATA ports on my motherboard (GA-P35-DS3), yellow, and then there are 2 that are Purple, are they sATA too?

    I'm using up all 4 now
     

Share This Page