1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GPU/Build Advice! (4870vs4890)

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by xChronox, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. eddie456

    eddie456 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The purple ones are eSATA, which are used primarily for external hard drives I think.
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The Purple ones are not e-SATA, the colour signifies they run off a different controller.
     
  3. eddie456

    eddie456 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh.. hehe whoopsie.. So can you plug in an internal hard drive into one of those?
     
  4. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ah, thanks. So that means they still work the same then, so I can use them?
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes, they work exactly the same, but won't RAID with drives plugged into the yellow ports.
     
  6. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You know, something I've never bothered looking up on is RAID and RAID0 / RAID1 and ACPI or whatever it's called, AHCPI?

    I know you probably don't feel like explaining it to me but do you know any websites that supply information / how to use guides?
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2009
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    To be honest, I think we ought to have a sticky for that. It gets asked maybe once or twice a week.
     
  8. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    haha, yeah it sounds important and useful.

    I found the exact same ram sticks (Corsair DDR2 800MHz PC2-6400 Dual Channel) £24 for 2GB, should I get those and have 4GB or get 2 2GB OCZ Reaper 1066MHz Dual Channel ram sticks?

    Also you were right, my PSU is running these 2 DVD Drives and 2 Hard Drives fine :p
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Why not Corsair 2x2GB PC8500? :p
    I'd avoid OCZ PC8500.
     
  10. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Nice find on the Corsair, that's the exact RAM I use, and paid £90 for :S
     
  12. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    :O

    Well, prices are constantly being dropped. My original PC, the Graphics card is discontinued, along with the DVD Drive and the motherboard. And the CPU. The only thing that is available on the ebuyer is the Ram, PSU, Hard Drives (Except for my new Seagate).

    The Corsair looks pretty sexy. I'm definitely considering buying a Quad Core and that Memory as an upgrade, along with my 4870, it'll be pretty expensive too, considering I'm getting a new power supply as well.

    Heck, it's pretty much a new PC eh?

    But C2Q's are around £140ish now, which is nice, the ram is £58, the PSU is like £60, graphics card £165, so I'm looking at around £420.

    I'm waiting till the end of the year to upgrade anything though, then I'll hopefully have more money and new Graphics Cards will be released, maybe the 4870X2 will drop to 250 (if I pray enough) when the 4890x2's come out. Then I'll get one of those and screw the cpu :p

    long post is loooooooooooooooooong
     
  13. xChronox

    xChronox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm having some problem, I overclocked my 3850 Pro (Gigabyte 512MB) with ATI Overdrive (I wanted to use auto tune to see the max it could go) and I'm playing games and seeing random frameskips and chops every now and then, like COD4 I'd get 90fps Max Resolution no AA full AF and it would jump but I'd still have around 80-90 fps..
     

Share This Page