1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graphics upgrade for DELL Inspiron 530

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Photomate, Sep 22, 2011.

1. Photomate

Photomate Member

Hi to all,

I would like to use Photoshop CS5 OpenGL on my Dell Inspiron 530 desktop computer running WIN7 64 bit, but Photoshop will not recognize my graphics set-up. I get the message
    I went to the INTEL site and have updated my drivers with the latest version they offer, but it wasn't enough.
    I am a newbie with only a minimum understanding of computers. I was told that my graphics are a part of the mother board. Is it possible to upgrade my computer with a more modern or updated graphics card? Is this something a newbie can reasonably do or is it so involved that it would be wise to pay a computer repair shop to install? I can't afford a large expense. Can anyone recommend an economical card that would fulfill my requirements and where I might purchase it? BestBuy, Internet?
    Thanks in advance for any assistance. Respectfully, PhotoMate

2. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

3. Photomate

Photomate Member

Hi ddp,

Thank you for the quick response and your willingness to help me. Please keep in mind that I am a Newbie Senior Citizen with limited computer expertise.

WOW, I have visited the DELL site many times since I purchased my computer but never discovered the site you sent me to. What valuable information. Many thanks, I am sure it will come in handy in the future.

As you requested I went to the Adobe site to find out what CS5 is looking for in a video card but it doesn't mean anything to me. I don't know what a PCI Express x16 videocard would be, perhaps it will mean more to you. Supported Video Cards: http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/831/cpsid_83117.html, and here is the Adobe site OpenGL requirement information: http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/404/kb404898.html.