1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[GUIDE]3GHz Dual Core vs. 2.4GHz Quad-Core

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by CKhaleel, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. CKhaleel

    CKhaleel Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Lately, people have been complaining on which CPU to get, now, I finalize the question with this guide:


    Now, lets start with the 2.4GHz Quad-core. You see, the quad-core has 4 cores (duh) meaning it can handle more operations at once, meaning it can handle multiple process-heavy programs, like MS Word, Encarta, and many other apps at once, with little or no freezing, so if your a very 'productive' person, the quad-core is for you.


    Now let's move on to the dual-core. The dual-core cannot handle as many process-heavy programs at once as the quad core, but is faster than the quad-core. The dual-core is GREAT for PC gamers, becasue 3GHz is a lot of speed for a game--meaning it will have a great time running.

    So, if your a multitasker, the quad core is for you.


    If your a PC gamer, the dual core is for you.


    If your both, find $1200 and buy the 3GHz QX9650.


    Hope you enjoyed this crap guide!
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Just thought I'd raise a few points here.

    I have NEVER run out of multitasking power with a dual core CPU. Two cores are enough for all standard windows tasks, I would only say a quad core is necessary in the desktop environment for ripping a DVD or folding at home whilst in conjunction with other multitasking, and realistically this won't happen often.
    Quad cores are, however, starting to become useful for games, so that's something to think about.
     
  3. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    agreed.

    im sure by the end of the year, there will be 3-4 more games that will utilise Qc, but untill next year with nehalam and DDR3 Qc are not essential
     
  4. im1992

    im1992 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    nehalem will be the way to go as its native quad core, and have a built in memory controller like the amd's..... only better!
     
  5. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i dont like that it has a built in NB, as overclocking will be down to the chip not the mobo :(

    and if intel decide not to allow Ocing, be sure it wont happen
     
  6. im1992

    im1992 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    are you saying that we wont be able to overclock nehalem if intel doesnt want us to (which they probably dont since they lose money from overclocking)?
    so basically overclocking will come to an end? forever?
    just like they locked the multiplier
    now they will control the fsb too?

    -thanks, sorry for so many question
     
  7. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    well i am sure that they will lock any lower chips like notebook or low end desktop, but i doubt server/extreme or other high mainstream chips. but we shall see
     
  8. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    well i am sure that they will lock any lower chips like notebook or low end desktop, but i doubt server/extreme or other high mainstream chips. but we shall see
     
  9. im1992

    im1992 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so the replacement for the q6600 (a 220 buck chip) will be unlocked?
    keep in mind it was a 900 buck chip when it first came out...
    -im1992
     

Share This Page